World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
My gravy/sauce search is over!! This is so easy to make and without having to stand over the stove all day!! IT'S PERFECT!! No adjustments needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I have been making my own sauce for 20 years and it pales in comparison to this! We fought over the leftovers. Thanks John Chandler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Very good! I made it for my lasagna dinner, for my birthday. I'm glad I did. I've been meaning to start making my own sauce for spaghetti rather than the usual Ragu....I didn't use the sausage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
awful.. plain, very bland..... extremely disappointed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I have been looking for a Spaghetti sauce as the same as the pizza place I worked at 20 years ago. And this is the closes I came. My family and friends just loved it. I did the Lasagna, now I am using for Meat Manicotti. Thank you John!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this sauce last night and the family loved it. As others have suggested, I cooked the sausage and beef (both the lowest fat I could find) together, then removed from the pan and drained on a paper towel. Cooked the onions and garlic in a little EVOO until wilted then added the tomatoes, sauce, paste and spices. I did all a 1/4 cup of red wine and about 1/4 cup of water. Let this simmer for about 1/2 hour and added the meat back for the remaining hour. Really liked the fennel. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Yes, excellent recipe and easy to customize! I made it as is with one modification: I added a dry red wine instead of water because I really felt water would dilute it too much. I also cooked it in a slow cooker (prepared as is, then transferred to a slow cooker for 4 hours). The taste was very flavorful without being overbearing and perfectly thick. I am not a fan of fennel but the small amount compliments the sausage really well. Next time, I will add bay leaves (not sure it "needs" it), mushrooms and try ground turkey as oposed to ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Not sure what critical review ate but it wasn't this sauce. I loved it! John keep on cooking cant wait to try some of your other recipes. This is a fantastic sauce, rich flavors a perfect blend of seasonings. You're the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have to admit this is a very, very good meat sauce. With the exception of adding fennel (store was out or didn't carry it) I followed the recipe until the end of the cooking time. BTW I worked and was taught at a very large Italian restaurant in Massachusetts so I think I have a decent tongue. When all was done I tasted it. Good...very good, yet with no uniqueness or direction. I added a bit of salt and that helped, but it took a half cup of cabernet to really make the other flavors pop out. Five minutes extra uncovered with some stirring to mix it in. Served over spaghetti with a Zinfandel on the side made a great meal. We all have different tastes and this sauce could have turned in a different direction by using a 1/4 cup of bourbon instead of the wine. I like the addition of the mild or sweet sausage and I suppose one could spend a lifetime trying all the varieties of those in your sauce. Ah...What a pleasure it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Awesome sauce. I bought spicy Italian in error but it was delicious with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States