World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Ever since I found John's recipe for "World's Best Lasagna" (a must try if you haven't already done so), I've been using the sauce portion of that recipe for my meat sauce. The only minute changes I make for the sauce only are 1) I leave out the fennel seed, and 2) I add a chopped jalapeno, seeds, membranes and all for a little zing. I also give it a quick mix with a submersible blender to puree it a bit. One other change I'd like to note: If you read the lasagna recipe, it doesn't say to drain the meat after browning with the onion and garlic (and jalapeno in my version). I never have drained off the fat and the sauce still never comes out greasy. I just can't see sacrificing the onion, garlic and jap flavors to drain off the fat. If you are going to drain, I would suggest adding the onion and garlic afterward. This really is a fantastic sauce recipe that you absolutely must try. Thank you John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I thought this was really good. Someone mentioned that with fennel sausage it would be over kill adding the extra fennel. The recipe does not say to use sausage with fennel so if that poster used both it would of been her mistake. Also, I always put red wine in mine along with a little sugar. I always taste and see if I need more of anything to my liking, that's how you get the sauce you want, by tasting and adjusting to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've been using this recipe for sauce since I discovered the recipe for worlds best lasagna years ago. Love it! As does my husband and his italian family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Followed the original recipe with red wine substituted for water, more ground beef instead of the sausage, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, and 1/2 tsp oregano. Definitely wasn't flavorful enough for my liking; could have used half as much wine and more spices. I'll be sure to try it again with some changes and see if I can get the same results as others here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Best sauce my husband ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This was the best sauce I've ever made! I pretty much followed the directions except only added about 1/2 pnd hamburger and I didn't have any fennel seed. Other than that, followed it to the letter. Made traditional spaghetti with it the first night and froze the leftovers in a gallon baggy. That was about 3 weeks ago and tonight I made Lasagna and it was the best. This will be my go to sauce from now on. Thank you so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I stayed pretty close to this recipe as is, just didn't have any fennel on hand and used ground Italian sausage instead of sliced. I could eat this sauce plain, it's so good! I'm excited to try experimenting with ratios and other ingredients but as is I still give it a 5/5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I use this sauce with any italian meal I make. The only changes I make are I substitute the sugar with honey, and simmer it longer. I first tried the lasagna with this recipe and I was hooked! Great flavor. Thank you for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by destiny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Very good base recipe. Easy to make alterations and still come out very good. As many others did, I made several changes according to my taste. Definitely better than anything we get around the Clearwater, Fl area in the restaurants. I'll be making this often. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Used this in lasagna... incredible meat sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robzymuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States