World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Not sure what critical review ate but it wasn't this sauce. I loved it! John keep on cooking cant wait to try some of your other recipes. This is a fantastic sauce, rich flavors a perfect blend of seasonings. You're the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I have to admit this is a very, very good meat sauce. With the exception of adding fennel (store was out or didn't carry it) I followed the recipe until the end of the cooking time. BTW I worked and was taught at a very large Italian restaurant in Massachusetts so I think I have a decent tongue. When all was done I tasted it. Good...very good, yet with no uniqueness or direction. I added a bit of salt and that helped, but it took a half cup of cabernet to really make the other flavors pop out. Five minutes extra uncovered with some stirring to mix it in. Served over spaghetti with a Zinfandel on the side made a great meal. We all have different tastes and this sauce could have turned in a different direction by using a 1/4 cup of bourbon instead of the wine. I like the addition of the mild or sweet sausage and I suppose one could spend a lifetime trying all the varieties of those in your sauce. Ah...What a pleasure it will be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Awesome sauce. I bought spicy Italian in error but it was delicious with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I adore this sauce. After using it once in Chef John's lasagna recipe I decided that this would become my "go to" spaghetti sauce. All I've ever changed was the sugar- I only use 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Oh my word!!! This is THE BEST spaghetti sauce I have ever had in my 39 years of life. My husband, children and mother lived it. Everyone went back for seconds! This is definitely going to be a "go to" recipe. I made it exactly as written. The only thing I did differently was use ground Italian sausage instead of sliced. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is delicious!! Followed the recipe as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Left out the sausage and the fennel, and it was still the world's best pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Left out the Fennel and the sausage. I would use less sugar next time - too sweet or my taste. Always double up the recipe so you can freeze half for another time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
When I first made the 'World's Best Lasagna' a while back after I cooked the sauce it deserved a TEN rating by itself. It to me is one of the easiest yet very favorable homemade meat sauces and it will definitely go with any pasta of your choice. Another great thing about the sauce as the video stated is the seasoning can be modified to your liking as well. Thanks again John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is a great sauce recipe. It's very close to my own homemade sauce minus the fennel (I don't really see it fitting into this recipe, but to each his own!). I try to cook delicious but healthy foods for my family, so I do often add sausage, but only about 1/4 pound and the rest of the meat is lean ground turkey. It's just enough sausage to add a bit of punch, but not ruin the dish nutritionally. I also got a tip from one of the best cooks I've ever known and that is to always add a cap full of whiskey to your pasta sauce (any pasta sauce). (Okay, just for clarification, that is a CAP full, not a cup full! lol) Anyway, I don't know why, but it makes all the difference! It takes the place of the sugar in the sauce. Give it a try and see what you think. (Don't worry, once in the sauce, you can't taste or even smell the whiskey. It just blends into the sauce and somehow makes it exceptional!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States