World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Left out the Fennel and the sausage. I would use less sugar next time - too sweet or my taste. Always double up the recipe so you can freeze half for another time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet1219
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
When I first made the 'World's Best Lasagna' a while back after I cooked the sauce it deserved a TEN rating by itself. It to me is one of the easiest yet very favorable homemade meat sauces and it will definitely go with any pasta of your choice. Another great thing about the sauce as the video stated is the seasoning can be modified to your liking as well. Thanks again John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is a great sauce recipe. It's very close to my own homemade sauce minus the fennel (I don't really see it fitting into this recipe, but to each his own!). I try to cook delicious but healthy foods for my family, so I do often add sausage, but only about 1/4 pound and the rest of the meat is lean ground turkey. It's just enough sausage to add a bit of punch, but not ruin the dish nutritionally. I also got a tip from one of the best cooks I've ever known and that is to always add a cap full of whiskey to your pasta sauce (any pasta sauce). (Okay, just for clarification, that is a CAP full, not a cup full! lol) Anyway, I don't know why, but it makes all the difference! It takes the place of the sugar in the sauce. Give it a try and see what you think. (Don't worry, once in the sauce, you can't taste or even smell the whiskey. It just blends into the sauce and somehow makes it exceptional!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Too sweet, not enough spices, too thick and not Italian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was a good sauce, but the world's best? It really didn't rock my world. But then, I think the pasta sauce that my aunt taught me to make is the world's best. And personally? I would never add sugar to a pasta sauce. It shouldn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
?World's Best Pasta Sauce? it reads nice. I prefer my gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
John's 'World's Best Pasta Sauce' really is the best. Wish he would publish one that doesn't use meat that I could cook meatballs in. What about it, John? Maybe I'll use the same recipe, use pork neck bones rather than ground meat. Hm-m-m-?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Just an sause too much paste .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I made only 2 changes. Red wine instead of water and brown sugar instead of white. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I first found this sauce when I made the "World's Best Lasagna". Loved it!! After browning the meat, I added it to the sauce ingredients and put in the crockpot. Cooked on low for 6 hours. Refridgerated for a day before I needed to make my lasagna. I thought at the time it would be a great pasta sauce on it's own. Hubby loved it. Most pasta sauce gives him heartburn but this one didn't. A winner all around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States