World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
My grand parents were from Italy and the recipe that I have from them says never use sugar. If you want some sweetness to balance the acid of the tomatoes use a Sangiovese red wine from Italy or saute carrots in olive oil before adding the onions and garlic. I always brown a piece of pork with any additional meat added to the gravy. We also simmer it for 8 hrs or more and only use Italian San Marzano tomatoes. I have been to Italy many times and have learned that good gravy means using very good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I use tomato paste 2 18 oz and chicken broth or chicken stock,and the other half water for each can of paste use 3 cans of water or chicken stock, also I add some olive oil, and then simmer for 4 hours to get all the flavor of the meats in you sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I think this is the best meat sauce. Made it last year for the lasagna and got rave reviews, now I make extra and freeze it for later use. Like other reviews I add red wine in place of the water and it makes a difference. Thanks for a great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stratford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
WOW! This recipe is truly outstanding! Yes, you could tweak it but my husband and I absolutely love its flavor as it reminds us of Venice! I did do one thing different. My husband was a "cattle buyer" throughout his life before retiring, so we have a different perspective on the beef industry. I substituted ground brisket for the ground beef which my husband grinds and packages himself. The brisket is less per pound than lean hamburger in the market so a little work yields an outstanding product! We have discovered the small, finer, meat markets use this technique which leaves their clientele raving about their hamburger, and of course they tell their people it's a "special family secrete"! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! By the way, we use a small electric grinder so anyone can do it! -Coastal Sal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The lasagna is, indeed, the world's best! This sauce is phenomenal! Most requested dish in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I made this exactly as the recipe called for...oh my goodness literally couldn't walk by the pot without sticking a spoon in. I can't stand the sweet sauces or bland sauces this is just salty enough without over powering the rest of the food. I think what really did it was the sausage and beef juices being left in really gave it good flavor. Amazing sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie Samuels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I tried this recipe because I couldn't remember/find my friends recipe that I had. I couldn't get it from her since she has passed away. Made it once and loved it, even her Husband loved it. I guess it says a lot when He even asked me if I could make again for him. I used sage sausage instead of the sweet Italian sausage. Other than that I did exactly as it called for. I would give this more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Detamore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Turned out to be very tasty. I didn't have Italian sausage so used only ground beef, although can imagine it would bring up more flavor. Definitely should use wine for water. I didn't have fennel seed but in addition to basil and Italian seasoning I added, as one reviewer suggested, 1/2 tsp of oregano and 2 bay leaves. Also for additional flavor and spycyness I added 1 tsp of chile in adobo sauce (I added only sauce although if you want to add a minced chile it should be also good but more spicy). It's a very nice basic recipe to have with which it's easy to play with as in any way it comes out very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Azarashvili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I have tried many variations of this recipe with great results. We use it as pizza sauce as well and have now consistently produced pizzas and pasta better than any local restaurant can match. Increasing the crushed pepper for spice is a nice touch and replacing sugar with honey from time to time adds a nice difference to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulletbikeguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is absolutely the best sauce EVER! When I make it for friends they are astonished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States