World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The lasagna is, indeed, the world's best! This sauce is phenomenal! Most requested dish in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I made this exactly as the recipe called for...oh my goodness literally couldn't walk by the pot without sticking a spoon in. I can't stand the sweet sauces or bland sauces this is just salty enough without over powering the rest of the food. I think what really did it was the sausage and beef juices being left in really gave it good flavor. Amazing sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie Samuels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I tried this recipe because I couldn't remember/find my friends recipe that I had. I couldn't get it from her since she has passed away. Made it once and loved it, even her Husband loved it. I guess it says a lot when He even asked me if I could make again for him. I used sage sausage instead of the sweet Italian sausage. Other than that I did exactly as it called for. I would give this more than 5 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Detamore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Turned out to be very tasty. I didn't have Italian sausage so used only ground beef, although can imagine it would bring up more flavor. Definitely should use wine for water. I didn't have fennel seed but in addition to basil and Italian seasoning I added, as one reviewer suggested, 1/2 tsp of oregano and 2 bay leaves. Also for additional flavor and spycyness I added 1 tsp of chile in adobo sauce (I added only sauce although if you want to add a minced chile it should be also good but more spicy). It's a very nice basic recipe to have with which it's easy to play with as in any way it comes out very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Azarashvili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I have tried many variations of this recipe with great results. We use it as pizza sauce as well and have now consistently produced pizzas and pasta better than any local restaurant can match. Increasing the crushed pepper for spice is a nice touch and replacing sugar with honey from time to time adds a nice difference to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bulletbikeguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This is absolutely the best sauce EVER! When I make it for friends they are astonished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
The title is correct. Worlds best lasagna, well sauce!! I use the sauce recipe for anything requiring a good spaghetti sauce. I made this meal for my in-laws. My Italian father in-law raved about it (go me!!) and his wife (not Italian) said it was almost as good as hers.. Whatever she's just jealous. There's no way this recipe with over 500 five star reviews isn't as good or BETTER than hers. Keep the recipe- it's so yummy!! Freezes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
We loved this recipe. I have made it before with the lasagna recipe which is my husbands favourite recipe I make. For this sauce I used hot ground sausage and lean ground beef. I added 1 shredded carrot. I let the sauce simmer on the stove for about 5 hours and just before serving I added 1/2 cup milk and some fresh parsley. Absolutely delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have been using this recipe for a very long time now. I am always coming back to it. Making it tonight, too! Thanks for sharing, John! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I have made this sauce a few times. I did modify the sugar. I used a teaspoon then another pinch. Do not use 2 teaspoons, too sweet. It took me forever to bring it back when I did do that. I also added more than a pound of sausage. I make this for my lasagna and spaghetti. Wonderful!! A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States