World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I made this twice, first as written and it was GREAT! But then I did some mild modifications. I used all ground beef, addes red wine instead of water and added 1/2 tsp of oregano and rosemary plus 2 bay leaves. Put it in my crock pot for 4 hours and it was OUTSTANDING! I even had a true Italian guy tell me it was an outstanding sauce. I served it over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
625 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I've never written a review for a recipe before but this recipe was worth the effort. I made this as the recipe calls and it was fabulous. I've been making Italian food for a long time and this sauce was truly delicious. My Italian husband declared it the best sauce he's ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Hope you enjoy it. I am still amazed that the responces my other recipe has recieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnchandler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I was going to just use the meat sauce recipe from my favorite lasagna but thought I'd look around and see what's out here. What do I pull up? The sauce recipe from my favorite lasagna! This sauce is great as is, and the best part is, you can tweak it a bit as you like. add more garlic, less sugar, spicy sausage,...whatever and the end product is always delicious. I personally like a thick sauce so I omit 1/2 of the tomato sauce this recipe calls for, still delicous! Try it you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Awesome meat sauce!!! I sauteed the beef and sausage separately as they tend to be greasy and added them to the sauce during the last half hour of cooking. I then sauteed the onion with a little olive oil and garlic until translucent. I then added the tomatoes and spices. I used red wine vs. water, added 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes, doubled the basil, added 2 tsp. of oregano, and 1 bay leaf. The fennel seeds are a nice touch! This sauce was so good and tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I started making this sauce a few months ago. Since then, I absolutely REFUSE to buy any at the store. I love to add in fresh tomatoes from our garden, but even without it, this sauce KICKS tail. If I learned how to put it up in jars, I'd keep it on hand all the time. It makes a ton, and it is the single best sauce I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craigandsherry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
We took this to a pasta potluck and received many compliments and requests for the recipe! My daughter actually made it and said it was quick and easy. [But not quite as good as her husband's ;-)] Since everyone seemed to really like it I rated it five stars. Personally, it was too much meat for me and next time I will cut the sugar in half or omit it entirely. If you can find the Contadina brand tomato products I recommend using them. Their flavor is less acidic than other brands. This may be why I didn't think it needed the sugar. Their roasted garlic flavored tomato paste is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANIS MILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I made this just for kicks to see how other people make their sauce. This was just OK at best. First of all...there's already enough fennel seed in Italian sausage that adding more is complete overkill. And it's definitely lacking ingredients for a full, rich sauce...such as...bell pepper, mushrooms, fresh Italian basil, fresh spicy oregano, fresh parsley, and a bit of red wine. (by the way...red wine is what should be used instead of sugar) Also...1/8 to 1/4 cup olive oil in your sauce will keep it from coagulating and also makes it a healthier recipe. A couple pinches of black pepper and fresh thyme sprinkled on the sauce when served finishes it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraFishinGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Very Good! I scaled to 4 servings, didn't add the ground beef or fennel seed (didn't have), and used fresh ground sage sausage. I only cooked the sauce on low for 45 minutes and my kids LOVED it and asked for seconds. Served with cheese ravioli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I absolutely love this sauce! I didn't change anything, only made a small addition. I like things a little spicy, so I added crushed red pepper flakes. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States