World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I sub red wine for the water. I'd rate this 5 stars but there's something that is missing and I can't quite put my finger on it. When I do, I might consider changing this to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Salvati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
First let me say, I like the simplicity of this before even trying the recipe. Had everything we like in it. We live in a rural area, so quick trips to a market are not an option. This is SO good. It made my house smell SO good. It made my family SO happy. Only one problem - NO leftovers. Thank you for a fantastic feast on a nasty Sunday afternoon. Like others, the compliments, and requests for the recipe just keep coming. WAY TO GO Johnchandler. A big thank you from rural Texas is coming your way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Love this. Make pizza casserole with it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
After many years of trying to make my own sauce, some good some bad, i found this sauce and have made it many many times. My whole family and a bunch of friends love it! I have even made it without the meat and it is still good! This is literally the world's best pasta sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe, minus the fennel I didn't have. I added rosemary as one review suggested. Instead of sausage/beef, I used 1.25 lbs of lean ground turkey, chopped fresh green beans, and kale for a healthier twist. Tasted great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Ever since I found John's recipe for "World's Best Lasagna" (a must try if you haven't already done so), I've been using the sauce portion of that recipe for my meat sauce. The only minute changes I make for the sauce only are 1) I leave out the fennel seed, and 2) I add a chopped jalapeno, seeds, membranes and all for a little zing. I also give it a quick mix with a submersible blender to puree it a bit. One other change I'd like to note: If you read the lasagna recipe, it doesn't say to drain the meat after browning with the onion and garlic (and jalapeno in my version). I never have drained off the fat and the sauce still never comes out greasy. I just can't see sacrificing the onion, garlic and jap flavors to drain off the fat. If you are going to drain, I would suggest adding the onion and garlic afterward. This really is a fantastic sauce recipe that you absolutely must try. Thank you John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I thought this was really good. Someone mentioned that with fennel sausage it would be over kill adding the extra fennel. The recipe does not say to use sausage with fennel so if that poster used both it would of been her mistake. Also, I always put red wine in mine along with a little sugar. I always taste and see if I need more of anything to my liking, that's how you get the sauce you want, by tasting and adjusting to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I've been using this recipe for sauce since I discovered the recipe for worlds best lasagna years ago. Love it! As does my husband and his italian family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Followed the original recipe with red wine substituted for water, more ground beef instead of the sausage, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, and 1/2 tsp oregano. Definitely wasn't flavorful enough for my liking; could have used half as much wine and more spices. I'll be sure to try it again with some changes and see if I can get the same results as others here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Best sauce my husband ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States