World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Excellent - had a similar one years ago and this replaces it. Only difference being have to omit fennel because we just do not like it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Some of the best sauce I have had easy and quick and my wife loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Aurora, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Wow this is really a good sauce Ive made it three times now like the other reviews, Ill never make the jar stuff again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
It was good. Too much meat. Chunks of tomatoes would have been nice. I enjoyed it (kaz)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Loved this recipe. I did make changes based on what I had in my pantry so stop reading if you want to know how it turns out if followed exactly! Used 1 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes (drained the can off), omitted the paste (had none), used 2 tsp of Ital seasoning on accident, used garlic salt in place of regular and equiv of 1 clove of minced garlic, used minced onion from spice rack (1 1/2 T)to save time, omitted ground beef, omitted water, omitted fennel - it is in sausage anyway. Those were my changes, but this was a great recipe to use as a base. The kids loved it and they normally do not like spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
The first time I made this I made it exactly as written and using a sweet onion (b/c that's all I had) and the sweet sausage than adding the sugar i felt it was just a tad too sweet, but it was still incredible compared to the store bought sauces I've always used. Plus it was super easy to make. Why buy sauce when you can make it this easy at home? This time I made it and all I did was omit the sugar and instead of cooking the ground beef I made homemade meatballs. OOOMMMGGG This was AMAZING!!! I'm using the sauce tonight with my homemade pizza and the meatballs tomorrow in meatball grinders. Now I HAVE to try John's Lasagna! Thanks John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This is my go to spaghetti sauce. I have always made the lasagna and always make extra sauce to freeze. My only change is to use fresh basil! I just can't say enough about this recipe, it really is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Followed the recipe to a T and it was amazing. My husband agreed that it was some of the best sauce he's ever eaten, definitely restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used ground Italian sausage instead of sliced links and left out the fennel seed because I am not a fan. The sauce came out very thick and meaty. Great flavor but next time will cut down on the meat and will make in the crock pot like other reviewers mentioned. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
So I read about 10 reviews down and decided to modify the recipe as such: added the lemon/pepper spice to the cooking chicken cubes as well as some Mrs. Dash. Used cream of mushroom soup and threw some frozen peas on the bottom of the casserole (didn't cook them first). I actually used shredded asiago cheese for a little extra sharpness. Instead of sour cream as some people recommended, I used the Phili cooking sauce (garlic and herb). Used fresh broccoli and steamed it to al dente stage. For the topping, I used the butter and italian herb bread crumbs and some of the left over asiago cheese. YUMMY! My husband wasn't as fussy on it as he is not a 'cream' guy - he would rather have spaghetti sauce 5 days/week! I LOVED it. Just enough zip to make it tasty and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States