World's Best Pasta Sauce! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is delicious!! I first made the recipe lasagna with this sauce and now I make the sauce for everything.I make a big batch and freeze.It is simple and scrumptious!I did not alter anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I've been making this one for years, now. For spaghetti, lasagna, everything. Maybe a modification here or there, but this is the master recipe. If I want a smoother textured sauce, I sometimes use an immersion blender to get it where I want. Truly the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very good. Will try it again. Best in the world? Not to me. It makes me laugh when someone proclaims "best in the world" In order to make that claim, you have to compare it it to every sauce in the world. I doubt that you have. Egos are a funny thing. A very good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I made this just for kicks to see how other people make their sauce. This was just OK at best. First of all...there's already enough fennel seed in Italian sausage that adding more is complete overkill. And it's definitely lacking ingredients for a full, rich sauce...such as...bell pepper, mushrooms, fresh Italian basil, fresh spicy oregano, fresh parsley, and a bit of red wine. (by the way...red wine is what should be used instead of sugar) Also...1/8 to 1/4 cup olive oil in your sauce will keep it from coagulating and also makes it a healthier recipe. A couple pinches of black pepper and fresh thyme sprinkled on the sauce when served finishes it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dean Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was quick and delicious, my family loved it! And for me not being a cook that uses recipes or following them, it was easy and better for my family. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made a double batch of this sauce so I could share it with others. It was FANTASTIC, to say the least! I added a double batch of Chef John's meatballs, delicious. Oh yeah, I did not add the beef, only the sausage. I was tempted to go with Italian hot sausage but decided to follow the recipe and used sweet Italian sausage, which was good because we had a houseful of young kids to feed. Thanks for the great recipe! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Followed the recipe with no modifications. Loved the sauce. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Who needs pasta? I could eat this right out of the pot! The title is well-deserved. It's the perfect balance of spices, tomatoes and meat. Don't change a thing! Oh, and it doubles and freezes very well so make a big batch. You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Where has this been all my life! I have searched for years for a pasta sauce like this one! Thanks John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made this last night- I am very picky with my pasta sauce and it was wonderful. I made only a couple of changes and it came out great... I omitted the water because I find it makes it too watery and I like my sauce a little thicker. I used crushed tomatoes with basil already in them instead of adding dried and I omitted the fennel because my husband is not a fan. I also added just a teaspoon of chili powder. The key really is to let it simmer for a long time- it combines all of the flavors together so well. Don't make this sauce heat it and serve- it will not be the same it has to simmer! Loved and will be my go to meat sauce from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States