World's Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening, used 1/2 c white sugar + 1 T molasses instead of the sugars, replaced the egg with 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce, used white whole wheat flour, replaced walnuts with pecans, added a few semisweet chocolate chips, and baked for 10 minutes. The best oatmeal cookies I have ever made (and I'm sure they would have been if I hadn't modified anything as well!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
These were very good cookies. The only changes I made was to omit the walnuts because I didn't have any and I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Even my husband, who says he only really likes chocolate chip cookies, liked these. I used my #50 cookie scoop and got only one dozen 3" (approx.) cookies. I did bake for 12 minutes and we ate them while still a little warm. They were nice and chewy in the middle and lightly crisp on the edges. I couldn't tell you how they tasted the next day because we ate all 12 in one evening :) I can't imagine getting 48 cookies out of this amount of batter - if you do they would be awfully tiny and the baking time would have to be drastically reduced. This recipe was very similar to the Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies on my box of oats. There are just very minimal differences, with one of them being the ingredients are doubled what is called for in this recipe and that one says it makes 4 dozen cookies also. I wonder if the yield of 4 dozen stated in the recipe is a misprint? No matter the size they were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Do NOT substitute butter for. the shortening specified. The cookies flattened out and slid into each other. I crumbled the mess into a bag for a quick ice cream topping. Next time I'll try doing it correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
just so so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I had my doubts, but these are WONDERFUL! I made these a few different ways, just to give a variety of flavor. I added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to original recipe and baked for 11 minutes. This is definately a keeper! The kids love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Very good recipe-didn't have any walnuts in pantry added white chocolate chunks instead. Very easy recipe with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
These are indeed VERY close to being "THE WORLD'S BEST OATMEAL COOKIE"! They're very quick and easy to make and bake, and are especially yummy hot out of the oven. I made mine without the nuts, but added raisins and milk choc chips. I did however find them SLIGHTLY salty though, so will remember to make them with 1/2 the amount next time. ENJOY! These are FAB cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tablescraps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
The texture on these were great. The flavor came out more after a few hours. I just thought the crisco made them a bit greasy. I added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg (that was a plus). I would definitely make them again. I originally needed to find an oatmeal cookie without dairy that my lactose intolerant son can enjoy.....and he has been enjoying these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
These were delicious!!! One of the best oatmeal cookies I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
These are the best!!! I just made a double batch and they are the best we ever tasted. Half the batch I made a date filling and spread between 2 baked cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States