World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This is a good recipe but not quite as good as I expected. With some minor changes it could be great. First the tip about not boiling the noodles is a keeper, they were perfect, will never boil again. The nutmeg to the ricotta is also a great idea, I added about a 1/4 t. I used fresh parsley and fresh basil. I dont like crushed garlic as it is too strong so I let the gloves simmer whole in the sauce then remove them before assembling the lasagna. It is a good starting recipe, it just needs the meat reduced, and the seasonings adjusted as there is not alot of flavor other than tomato. I did not add red wine, next time I will try that and also next time I will use chicken stock for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
A fantastic lasagna recipe. Have made twice now. Like most lasagna it is really a challenge to screw up. The first time I followed the recipe pretty closely. The second time I switched the pork sausage for Whole Foods Sun Dried Tomato and Herb Chicken Sausage. It is difficult to say the switch made my dish any healthier, but for anyone not interested in eating pork it was a delicious and welcome treat. Also, go with fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Excellent. Definitely worth the the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I cooked the sauce in a slow cooker over night. Otherwise I followed the directions to the letter. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tjlongdo
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This was a terrific meal. The pasta sauce is great by itself and could definitely go over a bed of noodles. The sauce recipe makes more than what is needed according to the recipe so we turned it into dipping sauce for our bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Wow! New favorite lasagna!! I loved the simmer time--really made for a great flavor! I used all lean ground turkey for meat as our favorite healthy choice. I also used all mozzarella because my silly children don't like Parmesan. I didn't have tomato paste so threw in an extra tomato sauce and it was fine. I also cut the sugar to 1 TBS and it was plenty sweet. I cut the salt down and to about a tsp as well and will probably cut it down more next time--I was thirsty all night! It was fab, though, and I will definitely make it again!! Oh, and I didn't have fennel so I am anxious to try it with that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Just tried this recipe tonight. I am normally to lazy to make something this time consuming and buy the big frozen store box brand. I must say I was impressed that I could pull something like this off. My first homemade attempt at lasagna and my family was impressed. I followed the video step by step and everything turned out near perfect. At first when I tasted the meat sauce it tasted like I had over salted it just a little. Then when I tried the finished product the amount of salt seemed just about right. From now on I will be using this recipe and ditching stouffers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I have made this lasagna more times than I count! I even use the sauce minus the ricotta cheese for spaghetti! Delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This is one of the best tasting lasagna's I've ever had and I made it! Thank you so much for the recipe and for the reviews that helped make it wonderful. I was disappointed because I still cannot get my lasagna to sit up perfectly. I was sure by refrigerating overnight and baking the next day as well as soaking the noodles in boiling water for 20 minutes instead of boiling them would work but it did not... all it did was make me have to wait an additional 24 hours to taste this yummy concoction. I made 3 layers with 9 noodles. I used mild italian sausage instead of sweet, a full pound of ground beef, tripled the garlic, cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 tablespoons and the salt down to 1 teaspoon. I left out the fennel because my sausage had it in there. I simmered for about 3 hours covered. I used half shredded cheese and 1/2 sliced, upping it to a pound of cheese (which I won't do next time). I let it sit on the counter for an hour out of the fridge before baking and it needed more time baking because it was cold to begin with. Delicious! Next time I make this, I will like I said, use only 3/4 pound of cheese, stick to all sliced and only put one cup of sauce between the layers as opposed to 1 1/2 cups. This is all in an effort to make my lasagna prettier not because it didn't taste fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Delicious, and it freezes/reheats so well! I've frozen this both before baking & after baking, & the the lasagna holds up well both ways. Just be sure to fully defrost before baking or you will end up with an overcooked perimeter and a frozen middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 8,322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States