World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The lasagna came out delicious! I doubled the recipe exactly except I omitted the water. I added 2 cans of italian diced tomatoes to replace it. Although the longer the sauce cooks the better, I didn't have time so I just cooked it until the flavors of the sauce looked infused...about 30-45 minutes. I never knew what fennel seeds were or tasted like...they are a must, giving it a distinct flavor in random bites. DO NOT forget to add the sugar to kill the acidity. No more jarred sauce for me...unless I'm rushing of course. Lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
love this lasagna. Use only the cheese filling for in between the noodles and then sauce on the bottom and the top, and it will be even better per our own family's preferences (we don't like too much red sauce due to heartburn for hubby).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I would use a bigger pan than suggested, it overflowed a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Delicious! And not really that much work. Made almost exactly as written except omitted the sugar because I don't like sweet sauce. I made a double batch 3 days ago and it is almost gone today..Thank you for this wonderful recipe/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Fabulous, it takes some time to make it, but it is worth it. It is the best I have ever had, it blows away all restaurant lasagna's I have had to date by a long shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
LOVED this recipe. Very rich. Here are my notes on how to make it more efficiently: Meat: I found this recipe made 7 cups of meat sauce, vs the 4.5 cups it refers to in the recipe Cheese: It's best to buy mozarella slices, vs. buying fresh mozarella and slicing it yourself. That way the slices will be thin and even. Noodles: I found using 4 lasagna noodles lengthwise in my 9 x 13 pan fit perfectly, rather than using 6 lasagna noodles width wise (=lots of leftover lasagna noodles). Agree with the other reviewers that you don't HAVE to simmer the sauce, it is really nice and rich after you mix as directed. Also nice shortcut to just soak the noodles in hot water for 20-30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is the absolute best sauce in the world. I use it more as a spaghetti sauce than for lasagna. I have also used it for stuffed shells. I use tomato puree because I don't care for pieces of tomato in my sauce. I also used stevia instead of sugar. And, due to a great love of fennel, I usually double the amount. Everyone who has had it loves this sauce and thinks it is one of the best they ever tasted. I make far more than I need so I can freeze portions for later use. It tastes wonderful, all I do is add extra fennel. Saying this is the best is not an exaggeration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geriw34

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I don't think it's worth the amount of time it takes. My regular lasagna that only takes about an hour start to finish is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This is my all time favorite recipe. I like a chunkier sauce so I add diced green peppers and mushrooms chop the onions rather than mince them. I also about double the garlic. I use shredded rather than sliced and switch up what kind I use, italian blend, or what ever I have on hand. I don't boil the noodles before cooking and I simmer the sauce about half as long as the directions say. Everyone I've ever fed this to absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I am a novice in the kitchen but I've made this a few time and it comes out delicious each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States