World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
With a few minor tweaks this has been my favorite recipe of all time!!! I use a whole onion, 1 full pound of lean hamburger and a full package of Italian sausage - casings removed. For basil and parsley I use the organic chopped kind that comes in a tube, I also add a dash of nutmeg to the cheese mixture and use cottage cheese instead of ricotta. Soak the noodles in hot water for 30 minutes in the pan, much easier this way. Finally, I dice zucchini, carrots, mushrooms and garlic and add a layer of vegetables which makes it my own and healthier than without - I'm telling you my family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bernard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is the best recipe. I always return to this for multiple uses of the sauce. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hourglasswman
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Unless you plan on having a heart attack or ruining the lasagna via the foil, salt and grease; PLEASE heed this changes. - DRAIN the meat after you brown it with the onions. Also, if you want to add mushrooms, green peppers, or any other veggy ~ you can add them when browning or when the sauce begins; either way. Salt, there is waaaaaaaaaaaay too much salt in this recipe. You already have salt in the sausage and noodles; and most of all, the cheese!!!! I use 1.5 tablespoons FOR TWO lasagnas!!!!! Secondly, you will have extra sauce. If you want it to be EVEN for a typical 9 x 14 dish; change the servings for 10 servings instead of the original 12. I actually make two 9x14 lasagnas at a time, so I make it for 20 servings total. Third: IT DOES NOT need the sugar.... this is an old school habit that is not needed. If your tomatoes are bitter, this makes sense.... but if they are not, OMIT IT! To save you some time, if you plan to add spinach, blanch it, remove all the moisture you can, and blend in with your ricotta mixture. I don't use sliced mozzarella, I use grated; which per the measurements, is about right. I top with provolone and allow guests to add parm on top if they so desire. If you do not have a deep baking dish, DO NOT TOP WITH FOIL UNTIL AFTER YOU remove the foil halfway through cooking, otherwise you'll have a sticky mess! Make this recipe earn it's name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAC29

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This recipe is so amazing that I can't order lasagna out anymore. We double the sauce and save half for spaghetti. The only changes we make is to use half the sugar and substitute half the sweet sausage for spicy, but that's just a personal preference. Thanks Johnchandler for the phenomenal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this recipe as directed. I can't give it 5 stars because it was only "good" or "okay-good." It seems many people have tweaked it as suggested by others and then give it 5 stars. I would love to (and will) make this again and use some of the suggestions of others. I do think it could use more flavor...and more ricotta. Anyway...there we are. It's a good recipe...but not yet awesome...but if it's tweaked, I think it could be. Regardless, thank you John Chandler for sharing it...and thanks to so many others who've shared their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I made this last weekend a it was the best. Only change made was to make the lasagna in rolls and use small loaf pan. Excellent sauce, made two pans and froze one for later. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is a great lasagna base. The only thing I add is vegetables (red and green bell peppers, sometimes mushrooms), and the basil I use is fresh from the garden. Be sure you use italian sausage with lots of seasoning (I prefer the johnsonville sweet), if you only use plain ground beef it will be bland. I've used both pork and chicken sausage, both have turned out great. Also, only use canned tomatoes with no salt added. Sometimes I substitute the sauce for diced tomatoes with basil and garlic. I usually have that on hand, but don't always have sauce. I also double the ricotta cheese mixture because I like two layers for my extra thick pan, and I add a handful of parmesan to the cheese mixture to add more flavor to that layer. I love this recipe, because if I am missing an ingredient or two it isn't the end of the world. You can make this 1,000 different ways and it is always good. The extra work has been worthwhile the hundreds of times I've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is my go-to recipe. My husband isn't a fan of Italian food, but he'll eat this every time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is the BEST lasagna EVER!! Is now the whole families favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
My family loves this lasagna, I had another recipe but I got to say this lasagna is better then the one I used to make!!!??????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karina Ruiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 8,851) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States