World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Fabulous!! Here are the changes I made: -used sweet Italian turkey sausage instead of pork -used a little more than a pound each of lean beef and turkey -drained the meat after browning -used only one can of tomato paste -doubled the ricotta mixture -used a 16 oz block of mozzerella cheese and grated it -used fresh basil -I like a lot of seasoning so probably added more Italian seasoning than it called for -used gluten free no-cook rice noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Taking into account all the reviews and raves about this recipe, I decided to make it. It didn't quite turn out as well as I had hoped; I found I had enough sauce and used only 9 of the noodles, but the mozzarella and the ricotta cheese mixture was well short of what was needed to give the lasagna even layers. I was using a little larger pan than what was called for and instead of two cans of tomato paste, I used one can of tomato paste along with a 16 ounce can of crushed tomatoes in addition to the 28 ounce can that was called for, which might have something to do with it. Next time, I will double the ricotta mixture and mozzarella for the recipe and place the the uncooked lasagna in the refrigerator overnight, as I noticed with the leftovers I had the sauce's taste improved over time. I will also be using fresh basil leaves next time that I was unable to get this time for added flavor. Oh yeah, I didn't use any of the salt called for and a scant teaspoon of sugar. The lasagna turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Kimble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was a good base, but I think I made some tasty and healthy improvements. I used 1 lb ground turkey, 1 lb ground HOT Italian sausage (flavorful--wow!), 1, each, diced red and green peppers, doubled the garlic, NO salt or sugar, replaced water with red wine (yum), snuck in 1/4 cup ground flax seed (healthy), added a bundle of chopped green spring onions to the regular onions, added 2 cans of "fire-roasted" tomatoes (flavor!). I used 32 ounces of ricotta and a pound of shredded mozzarella! ALL cheeses were low fat or part skim. Replaced egg with egg beaters. And definitely use FRESH chopped parsley in the cheese mixture, and definitely let it sit over night! This makes a LOT of lasagna and fills a 13 X 9 inch pan AND a 9 X 9 inch pan. This is healthier than the regular version, but with these additions, the flavor is fantastic. Bon appétit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
No haven't taste it but it looks very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This was the first time I made homemade lasagna and it was delicious! My family is used to frozen lasagna but they all said this was better. The only changes I made were using ground turkey, which my family prefers, and using more mozzarella cheese. I wanted to follow the recipe as closely as possible since it is so highly rated. However, the other reviewers were correct in saying that the tablespoon of salt is too much. The next time I will leave it out completely. I also made the sauce the day before and I must say that the flavors were more intense the next day. I used a tip from another reviewer and also soaked the noodles in hot tap water for 30 minutes instead of boiling the pasta. The pasta turned out perfect! My tip would be to place a cookie sheet under the casserole dish because this recipe fills the dish and the lasagna might bubble over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
We make just the sauce in bulk and freeze some... Makes a great spaghetti sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My whole family absolutely LOVED this recipe. Can't wait to make it for company!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Even those who don't care for lasagna loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My husband made this. Was just a little to dry..Sauce was very traditional and blan...I felt Ragu beat this sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Bailey Best

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsZ
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I made lasagna for the first time following this recipe and I really liked it(I normally don't care for lasagna) ! It was cheesy, meaty, and the sauce was perfect! Yummy! I will make it again someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 8,770) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States