World's Best Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I was skeptical when I decided to make this,I favor my own lasagna recipe over anything Ive ever had at a restaurant and certainly made from frozen. But I wanted to give it a shot since there were SO MANY rave reviews. I followed the many recommendations of increasing the amount of ricotta. I doubled in and I should have only done a total of 24 ounces instead of 32. Here are the changes that I made: 1 full pound of lean ground beef in addition to the 1 pound of Italian sausage. Dried minced onion to replace fresh. Omitted the fennel, Italian sausage has plenty. Doubled the amount of tomato sauce since I had a bit more meat to work with. I DID NOT reduce the 1 tbsp of salt, you need this for flavor. It will not alter the taste, unless you add too much and or garlic salt, onion salt, broth or anything else that has added salt. Also, if you boil your pasta, do not salt the water. I added 3 tbsp white granulated sugar instead of 1, since I added more tomato sauce I had to add more sugar to balance the acid. Used dried parsley flakes in the ricotta instead of fresh, also added a dash of nutmeg (sounds odd but its great!), you can also omit salt here as well. I used oven ready lasagna shells. Next time I will use regular lasagna and I will not boil NOR soak in water. If the assembled lasagna has enough sauce which I LOVE, the pasta will cook to al dente in the extra sauce. It comes out perfect! Used all shredded mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeeziebrb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This has got to be the best ever! I've never have had luck in making lasagna until now. I went easy on the salt, omitted the fennel seeds and the parsley only because I forgot to buy it. My family loved it. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
YUMMY x 1000! I exchanged ground buffalo for the beef, used Italian turkey sausage, and polenta for the noodles! My entire
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Well, yes, it takes quite a bit of work. But MAN is this lasagna good! I would definitely call it the world's best lasagna!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This recipe is amazing! Twice I have had family in town and made this dish "to impress" and it has never failed to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This recipe received rave reviews from my family and my neighbor's family. To make it a little healthier, I did a pound of grass fed beef and a pound of chopped mushrooms (instead of the sausage). I also added some (frozen) chopped spinach to the ricotta mixture. And lastly, I shredded/sliced my own cheese - more labor intensive for sure, but worth it!! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Not only is the lasagna great, the sauce has become my go-to sauce for spaghetti. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
First time attempt at making lasagna and it turned out to be the best lasagna I've ever had! Smack yo mama good! Followed the recipe pretty much exactly (including all the salt it called for). Maybe I have a salty palate? I dunno, but it tasted PERFECT to me- *however, adjust it down if your taste buds are sensitive. I used the deepest 9X13 I had- Made three layers and was thus able to use up all the ingredients. I followed the advice of other reviewers and soaked the noodles in hot water while the sauce was cooking- I think this helped greatly in that the lasagna holds it's shape when you cut it without falling apart. If you make 3 layers, it's worth it to have some extra ricotta and mozzarella on hand to have equal coverage- that could be me being anal, though. Thanks for sharing this recipe and for all the helpful suggestions from reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Made it tonight and boy was it a hit!! I left out the fennel seeds and I simmered the sauce for about 5 hours. Absolutely wonderful!! No photo because it was all eaten before I could snap one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I made lasagna for the first time with this recipe. It is absolutely delicious! My parents tried it too and even my mom, who is a lasagna aficionado, raved about how good it was. My wife took some to work and her manager tried a piece and loved it. I was eating it for a few days and it was really delicious each time. Recommend it 100%. I swapped in some spicy Italian sausage meat and I didn't have fresh parsley, but used dried. Still tasted amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 8,924) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

The World's Best Turkey

A bottle of Champagne makes this moist bird something to celebrate!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States