World's Best Bacon Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this for a party and it was gone right away. I followed other suggestions and reduced the mayo to 1/3 cup, I also doubled the bacon, and next time I will add even more (12 slices) as I was told it could be more bacony. I put it in a crock pot and served with french bread. Great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Everyone loves this dip! I used 1/2 cup of mayo and 1/2 cup of sour cream. I melted the cream cheese with the mayo and sour cream until it was smooth before adding the swiss cheese and also a little cheddar. I added the bacon and green onion very last. I did not have any problem with grease until I tried to reheat some the next day. I think if you wait to put the bacon until very last it may help to keep it from getting greasy. This recipe is good on anything from crackers to carrots, I will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Wow, this is soooooo good! I was a little nervous about the lack of ingredients & was temtped to add in some pepper or garlic or something but was happy I left it alone. I did omit the cracker crumbs from the mix and only had 6.5 ounces of swiss & therefore added in a bit of parmesan as well. This was the hit of the night at the holiday party I went to. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
As is, this dip is a 3 star recipe. I first tried this at a party several years ago, and thought it tasted great but was way too oily, and got worse as it cooled. I made some revisions and now I get requests for it for every gathering or party I go to! I use 1 cup light or fat-free mayo, an 8 oz block of neufchatel cheese, and 8 oz of shredded monterey jack. Blend together the cheeses, mayo and scallions and press into a microwavable pie plate or similar size casserole dish. Crush about 10-12 Ritz crackers, and add crumbled bacon bits into the crackers. Top the cheese mixture with the crackers/bacon, covering to edges. Microwave for about 7 minutes or until the cheese bubbles. This is AWESOME. Doesn't get greasy, it is gooey and delicious! I use breadsticks, melba toast, or bagel chips and it is ALWAYS a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
WOW!!! UNBELIEVABLY GOOD!!! Use about 1/4 cup less mayo, use 6 pieces of bacon (CRISPY) instead of 4, and stand back and wait for the compliments!! Someone referred to this as 'Crack Cheese', more addictive than crack cocaine, and I can see why! This will become my new party and potluck contribution, because it's so easy to make and too delicious to describe!! Make it in the microwave, I cooked it for 2 minutes to start and 3 minutes to finish, it was perfect just that way. Could add a dash of hot pepper sauce or maybe some chopped artichoke hearts to be fancy - but it's great as-is and will be a hit with any group. I didn't have any butter crackers but had some cheese crackers and crushed those up instead. I served it with the woven wheat crackers on the side, but this would be good with any cracker or even a crisp bread. MAKE THIS, YOU WON'T BE SORRY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belindabg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
My friend said "This is like spinach artichoke dip - but without the healthy stuff!!" Hahaha, yes, it was a crowd pleaser! May actually add "healthy stuff" and see how it is - I don't think it is possible to mess this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This dip was such a hit! I substituted turkey bacon and no one knew the difference. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My sister and I halved the recipe and devoured this during a movie. Everything blended well to me. I saved some of the bacon to crumble on top. Next time I will add fresh diced tomatoes to the toppping. That's what was missing in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I don't know what went wrong but when I made this dip it had puddles of grease on the top. I was so disappointed because the combination of ingredients sounded wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wood River, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Taste wise: great. Appearance wise: too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States