Working Mom's Hamentashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Very difficult to shape due to stickiness of dough. I used regular preserves and found it very dry once cooking. I'll keep looking for a hamentashen recipe. ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I tried this receipe with devil's food cake mix and it was disastrous. I dont know if it's because of the cake mix I used ... but the dough was nothing but powder and sticky clumps, even after kneading it with my hands for 5 minutes. I added water and it just became an incredible sticky mess. I did, however, make something of this mess. I would put about a teaspoon of raspberry preserves in my hand, then grab a small ball of the dough and roll it together, so I would get a slimy jelly-covered dough ball. I baked those following the instructions and they came out pretty good. They are like chocolate cake cookies with subtle raspberry flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Great recipe, true about the water and I added a little soft butter as well. Spritz with water and sprikle sugar on top and its what im serving in my bakery now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laboqueria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by StunnaShades
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Delicious and easy! I used a variety of all-natural preserves for the fillings, (apricot, blueberry, and strawberry), and chocolate chips for fun. The dough was a little dry, but worked out fine when I added about 1/4 cup water. I used only whole-wheat flour. A BIG BIG hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StunnaShades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Its snowing here and it is 1 week b4 Purim - So of course I told my kids we will bake hamentashen today! This was very interesting! It was nice not to have to measure many ingredients or refrigerate the cookie dough before working with it! I made the recipe as stated - and did not need to add extra water as others have stated. I used a bit of extra flour to dust the top and bottom of the dough b4 rolling it out and rolled it between pieces of parchment paper. I brushed the circles with egg wash and then filled some with chocolate chips and some with strawberry jam. The egg wash helped to keep the corners closed. I also brushed the tops with egg wash. I baked for longer than stated - 6-8 minutes was too short. The cookies came out soft - but very good. If you are looking for an easy and quick hamentashen recipe - this is it! I used some of the extra scraps to make regular sugar cookie circles with sprinkles. The hamentashen had a soft "cakey" crust and not a harder texture like regular rolled out cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
So easy and so good! I even made it with chocolate cake mix and filled it with cherry preserves. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was so easy, I used 3 tbsp of water. Being Israeli I am always looking for home tasting, this is not it, but close enough for being so easy to make. If you are looking for the authentic one, you need to make it from scratch, but other wise this is good. I also only use the poppy seed filling, that is the only way I remember from growing up in Israel. I also sprinkled some powdered sugar on top. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Just finished my last batch! These were a huge success. My husband who usually complains that Hamentashen are dry and cakey said these were the best he's ever had. I too used water to helped form them. For a real twist use a chocolate cake mix. Not traditional at all--but then again neither am I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This was great! Especially with my preschool class as we didn't have to keep chilling the dough! The cookies also kept their shape during baking. Warning: do not put them on the bottom oven rack, we did burn a few. the upper & middle racks were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LEW
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very Easy and delicious. I did use a little extra water to get started, but also was generous with the flour on my rolling pin to keep the dough from sticking. I have never made Hamantashen before and I think these came out quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States