Working Mom's Hamentashen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Easy to make. Obviously, a very cakey texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this recipe yesterday and although I had to add additional water, they came out absolutely delicious. The dough was soft and had a perfect flavor from the cake mix...we did everything the recipe called for and it worked out to perfection. Everyone who tasted them thought they were amazing. In addition to the extra water needed to make the dough stick together, I needed to bake them for an additional 2 minutes, but that was fine and again, this is an easy recipe that is quick to prepare and turns out a delicious hamentashen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Never heard of or had a Hamentashen before. They taste very good - My Jewish boyfriend said they were very good but not Authentic - that you have to go to a real Jewish deli/ bakery (preferably in New York) to get the real thing.. I think he's just being a "Hamentashen snob".. cause I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I liked this recipe. It was really easy and fast. We were short on time and used cherry pie filling. It didn't taste like regular Hamentashen but was still very tasty and our friends and family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
easy and delicious! i used betty crocker moist yellow cake mix and high-quality raspberry preserves... tasted better than the ones from the bakery (and less crumbly). I added about 4Tbs of water instead of the 2 as written, cuz otherwise the dough didnt hold together. i sealed the corners with water before baking... SO GOOD!! but i only got about 18cookies, so i guess i'll have to roll them out thinner next time (and make 2 batches- these were gone so fast!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very nice. What I found is that in making two separate batches, with two separate mixes, is it makes a differnce. Both mixes were Yellow Butter Cake, the Betty Crocker was moister and spread during baking but were very pastry like. Pilsbury was stiff and held the pinch better. Took them to a dinner for Purim and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
As a few others remarked, there was no way this hamantaschen recipe was going to work as written. The dough was just sand in my mixer after adding the 2 eggs and 2 Tablespoons of water to the cup of flour and cake mix. I added more water 1 Tablespoon at a time until it appeared to be the correct consistency [I ended up adding a total of 5 Tablespoons, including the initial 2]. It was actually a tad sticky when I took it out of the mixer, but the excess flour I put down for rolling took care of it. I used a pastry brush to wet the edges before pinching them closed [just to be sure, since last year a different recipe caused them to open up in the oven]. I had to bake them for 12-13 minutes before they were set enough. It made 34 for me, but some of them were thick, so I think I could have rolled out some more. Altogether, my family and I thought these were fantastic, but the changes I had to make were annoying to deal with. I took away 1 star for the different amount of water, and 1 for the different baking time. I will make these again next year, but with my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Nothing special but easy to make and the kids enjoyed. I would prefer the taste of a shortbread or sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LEAHSOL
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I make hamentashen every year, each time trying a new recipe in my search for the most delicious hamentashen. My search is over! These were quick, easy and most importantly, absolutely delicious. I made the recipe as directed and it yielded 30 hamentashen. I filled them with prune, poppy and apricot fillings. Rave reviews from my family. Thanks for a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAHSOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Woodmere, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This recipe is missing an important ingredient - the liquid. My preschool has used a similar recipe for years with great success. Use 1 box of yellow cake mix (Duncan Hines is pareve), 3 eggs, 1/2 C orange juice and 2 1/2 C flour (add more if the dough is sticky). Fill with your favorite preserve & pinch closed. Bake @ 350 for appx. 10 - 12 minutes. Use a touch of water to seal the edges of the hamantachen. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Vanilla pudding mix is the easy secret to making these rich-tasting cookies.

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States