Wonton Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was an interesting recipe to work with. I didn't have to use extra flour to roll it out -- it didn't stick at all. Unforunatley, I found it just about impossible to roll this dough as thin as it should have been. I allowed my dough to rest for the specified ten minutes, tried to roll it out, and found that I could only roll it so thin. I kept rolling, but it never got any thinner. I used this to make pot stickers, and let's just say they wound up being a little bit of filling with a ton of dough! And, they took twice as long to cook as the dough was twice as thick as it should have been. I'd try this again, but only if I get a pasta maker first, as someone else mentioned. Overall, I found this to be just okay. They tasted fine, but the fact that they wouldn't roll out properly killed it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This Recipe is awesome! I made Jalapeno, Cream Cheese,Cheddar cheese for the adults and my husband could not stop eating these i only got to try 3 of them! I just did plain wontons for my kids they loved them! We are going to try to make pizza rolls with these! I can't wait to make egg rolls with these they look just like the egg roll wrappers my mom used and boy are they expensive at the supermarket! Who knew they were so easy to make ! These are so easy to roll out and fun to make! I'm gong to try homemade ravioli also with these! I can't wait to make wonton soup with these ! the fillings are endless for these they are definately resturant quality ! I would give this an even higher rateing if i could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe is so good. I am allergic to crab, but LOVE crab rangoon. Most of the crab rangoon I've ever had didn't even taste like it had crab in it, so I wanted to make a crabless version. I haven't made that yet, but I did use this recipe to make home made chow mein noodles and it fried up ultra crispy and good. Then I decided to make home made egg rolls from a recipe submitted by Mendy Ling and I used store-bought egg roll wrappers and I really do believe that this recipe would have made those egg rolls even better (and they were fantastic) than they were. Thanks so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This recipe is wonderful! I usually don't keep any white flour in my house, only whole wheat, so I thought, "What the heck!" and I made them with all whole wheat flour! I did have to add a couple TBS extra water, but nothing much. I kneaded the door for a few minutes in my kitchenaid, and then let it rest under damp paper towel for about 30 minutes and it was very easy to roll out! I was able to get it PAPER thin with no tearing at all! I dusted them with flour to stack them, and they did not stick together at all (and they sat in a pile for about 40 minutes) Perfect! They taste wonderful and fry up nice and crisp! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
It worked great for a pot sticker although it was hard to make thin. Next time I'll make it with a little more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I found these rather simple, the 1st time I made it rolling out was kind of a pain, making sure every surface was well floured helped the 2nd time. This made awesome cream cheese wontons, my husband loved them, definitely a staple with my chicken fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahjgoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I rated this recipe a four because the recipe calls for way to much flour. I believe the reason people were having trouble rolling the wraps out is because the extra flour makes the dough tough. I used only 1 1/2 cups flour and the dough rolled out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHealthNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great Wonton wrapper recipe!! Makes them perfect! Also my son me likes me to cut them in strips, fry them in the deep fryer and sprinkle sugar and cinnamon on them. Yummy! Almost taste like taco bells cinnamon twists:) Oh and after cut these freeze really well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Fantastic recipe as is, I let it sit about 40 minutes and the dough was super easy to roll out. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Trinity**
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Thanks so much for this absolutely terrific recipe!! I've never made anything like this before and really thought it would be impossible to make these at home, but I tried the recipe and found they are actually BETTER than the chinese restaurant versions I have tried. I stuffed them with a small amount of cream cheese and sealed the edges with a little water before I deep fried them. They are great. Will definitely make these again. I LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Trinity**

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States