Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
I am of chinese descent and these are great! I grew up going to authentic wonton noodle houses and also helped my parents make them at home too. The wontons must be cooked in boiling water separately and then served with chicken stock. I have made these many times and different variations. Usually, I will substitute diced shitake mushrooms (soaked for several hours) in place of the shrimp and serve them with campbells chicken broth. This time, I followed the recipe but also added a bit of wood fungus too (soaked a few hours & sliced finely -- it's also put in hot and sour soup). I make a big batch and freeze for later. Frozen wontons make a quick and wonderful meal for those nights you feel like you can only boil water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
it's a good starting point. but there were important things i felt you left out. you shouldn't moisten the edges with water.. instead, mix in one egg per pound of meat you use in your stuffing prior to stuffing the wontons. it helps to keep everything together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KAITCH
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I added 1 Tbsp soy sauce, 1/2 tsp. sesame oil and 1/2 tsp fresh grated ginger to the plain chicken stock and YUM! It adds so much depth to the flavour of this soup. Also, I boiled the wontons in water for approx. 5 min before adding them to the soup; it helps to ensure your filling is cooked thoroughly and keeps your broth clear when you add them to the soup later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
Especially after a recently awful attempt at a similar wonton recipe, I was wary to try another, but was pleasantly surprised. Omitted the shrimp, don't care for it much. I love that the pork loin is finely chopped instead of using ground pork, it gives it a great texture that isn't pastey or chewy like some recipes. Used rice vinegar instead of wine because I had it on hand, not sure how much this effected the flavor. Also, I would recommend to anyone who wants to try this to either chop the ginger VERY finely, or simply grate it. I got the occasional bite of a small chunk of ginger, not so good =). Anyway, a fantastic wonton recipe that I will use all the time. Btw, I accidentally chopped a little more than 1 tsp ginger, so I added the remainder to the stock. Wouldn't recommend doing something like that unless you REALLY love ginger. It ended up being a little overpowering, and I think I only probably added about 1/4 tsp to it. Edit: if you have complaints about the broth, that is not the recipe's flaw: it's mediocre broth. Consider adding some kick with a splash of rice vinegar and a little grated ginger (have invested in a grater since my earlier post, what a fantastic tool!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I made this soup for Chinese New Year this year and it was fantastic! My family couldn't get enough of it, there was even "words" over who would get the leftovers. I used ground chicken breasts instead of pork and no shrimp (personal preference) but followed the rest to a "T". I found that if you cooked the wontons in boiling water first, then put them in the soup 10 minutes before serving, the resulting soup was flavourful but not murky or cloudy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teejaymacd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe. A quick hint for saving wontons for the freezer. Freeze individually on a cookie sheet, toss in a freezer bag and you can retrieve as many as you want. Good sauted for unexpected guests when you need something to munch on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This was very good! I went to two different grocery stores and neither had wonton wrappers. Therefore, I bought a package of egg roll wrappers and cut them in half. The noodles were thicker than I like, but the filling was still yummy. The trick to preventing the wontons from becoming a gloppy mess is to cook them in boiling water first, then putting them in the broth. I also had some left over bok choy from the stir fry that I was also making so threw that in the soup during the last 2 minutes of cooking. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I'm not particularly savvy when it comes to soups or Asian food, but I pulled this one off with ease. The filling was so good I considered ditching the wontons and grabbing a spoon! I didn't have rice wine so I used a bit of rice wine vinegar instead, and it turned out fine. Like others, I recommend boiling the wontons separately and then adding them to the broth before serving. I also added another can of broth; there didn't seem to be enough to accommodate two dozen wontons without having a really crowded bowl of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
*GREAT* recipe! Tastes just like at the restaurant, my husband asks me to make this on a regular basis now & since I keep the filling pre-made & frozen it's easy to throw together for a quick meal on nights when I don't really feel like cooking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
The perfect soup on a cold night. My boyfriend made this recipe for our Chinese dinner, and it was so easy. Instead of using the shrimp, we used lobster pieces. It was very good. He also precooked the wontons so they did not get gooey, which helped a great deal from advice from others. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States