Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this tonight as part of our New Year's dinner and it was great! I followed as written, and added a couple tbsp grated carrot (to the meat mixture and the broth) and a tbsp oyster sauce to the meat. I did substitute ground pork and ground ginger bc that is what I had. I found that there was not enough of the broth so I doubled it and that worked for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I thought this soup tasted absolutely wonderful! There were a few changes that I would make myself, based off of what I've had most of my life. I noticed other people added vegetables. I would highly recommend that. Perhaps some celery or mushrooms. I also thought that the pork would be better if it were grounded or something, rather than having it chopped coarsely. And I also thought that the soup could use more than 3 cups of chicken stock. My husband loved this soup, but felt like there was not enough "broth" part for how many wontons were in the soup. I doubled the amount of chicken stock which I thought would be perfect. The next time I make this I'm going to add other vegetables, shrimp, and more chicken stock than the recipe called for. The general flavor overall was really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakamaeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is a good base recipe for when I'm craving wonton soup & its pretty darn good! But its still not quite as good as the resturants. Still, I'd make it again when I'm in the mood for some & don't wanna go out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was really delicious! I made it according to the recipe with the exception of the brown sugar. I used sweet rice wine, so I skipped the sugar just in case it would be too sweet, and it was perfect. Next time I make it, I'll try the modifications suggested by other reviewers ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
this was an awesome recipe. Thank you. I will be making again and again. My family loved this and trust me when I say I have picky eaters :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv2Luv_Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Pretty tasty! I added finely diced cabbage to the filling mix (personal preference) and put some thinly sliced mushrooms in the broth. Everyone enjoyed this meal. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
i did not like this recipe. the wonton soup didn't really taste like the one in the restaurant. and i did follow the recipe like it says. don't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I thought these were spot on. Very close to what I might order at a good chinese joint. I used regular versus light soy because I had none at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRECKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
A fantastic wonton recipe that is easy to prepare and cook. You may omit the shrimp and brown sugar, and substitute white vinegar for the rice wine, and the wontons will still turn out yummy. Add about 2 teaspoon of sesame oil to the raw meat mixture to enhance its flavor. Uncooked dumplings freeze well. I always make 2 to 4 batches ahead of time.***FREEZE: each dumpling individually. Once frozen, they can be stored together, each layer separated by a thin plastic film, paper towel, or foil. The broth is mediocre, but perfect for those days you don't want to spend time cooking in the kitchen. Just throw in a few frozen dumplings and cook till well done; a tasty meal in under 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
People have asked for my leftovers when I make this. I add extra liquid chicken stock and more ginger for a boost in flavor. Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States