Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
My family loved this recipe! I had never made wonton soup before so it was a new experience. My stepson doesn't like seafood so I left out the shrimp and added more chicken broth for my husband who loves a lot of soup. It was fantastic! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
good every eazy better the 2nd day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was a wonderful recipe. I followed it exactly except that I added some chopped carrots to the chicken stock. I did boil the wontons in water before adding them to the stock. My husband who seldom eats leftovers took the leftover soup to work the following day and said it was just as good as it was the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This was very good, my husband really liked it too, however I thought it was a little on the salty side. I will add less soy sauce maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I love these! I make a huge batch of these wontons all the time and freeze them. Then when I want wonton soup I boil the chicken broth and drop the frozen wontons in. They cook in about 5 minutes. I followed some others advice and add some sesame oil, soy sauce, and minced ginger to the chicken broth along with the green onions. If I am making wonton soup for dinner I'll add some chopped raw brocoli, sliced raw carrots and raw ramen noodles to the boiling broth for the last 2 minutes. These wontons are the best I've had including ones from restaurants and if you freeze them you can have dinner ready in under 10 min. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was so delicious! It was exactly the flavors I was looking for. The only change I made was out of convenience, I didn't add shrimp and I used fresh ground pork. I wonder how amazing it would have been if I had followed that part of the recipe. I also cooked my wontons seperately in water and then added them to the broth at serving time. For my broth I added some sesame oil and soy sauce and it was superb. Definately going to be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I wasn't happy with how mine turned out! They looked great, but I found them very bland and dry. The only explanation for dry pork, is because I used rice vinegar (as per suggestions) instead of oil. They next batch I may use oil and vinegar, double the spices, and add salt, garlic, and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MooShell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
No need to order take-out when you can make a dish as good as this one! It is perfect, served with a side of egg rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana C.
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I love Chinese food. Unfortunately, this did not have the authentic Wonton Soup flavor I was looking for. I think this recipe has potential, but it needs a lot of tweaking. As suggested by other reviewers, I cooked the wontons in a pot of boiling water before adding them to the broth. I'm very glad I did too. The residue left in the pot of water is not anything I would have wanted in my soup. The broth is a little bland and lacking a lot of the extra veggies that restaurants through in. Next time I'll definitely add cabbage and bamboo shoots. My biggest gripe about this recipe was the thinness of store bought wonton wrappers. About half of them fell apart and all of them were soggy. I will try this again with the alternations mentioned above and use homemade wonton wrappers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was very yummy. I added some more vegetables to the soup and even some noodles to make it more filling. I doubled it since the wontons are the most time consuming part and I saved the rest in the freezer for an easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States