Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is such an easy recipe to pull together! My husband and I loved it. I did make some adjustments, I typically don't measure while cooking; I ended up adding more ginger which I love anyways and used a whole green onion. I didn't have rice wine so I used rice vinegar instead and it came out fine. I also added roasted pork from the Asian market..YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Great Wonton soup! I did make ours meatless. But a great soup even with out the meat and also deep fried a few wontons cut into strips for dunking:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I made the wontons from scratch. It was so easy and everyone was really impressed! My whole family (including the kids) loved this soup. Thank you for the great recipe! (I did use extra stock for extra broth, and added some finely diced carrot and red bell pepper for color and a vegetable boost.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Changed nothing - certainly the best wonton I've EVER tasted. This can only be attributed to the recipe and has nothing to do with skill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Uncle George Great Wonton, I added some shitake mushrooms that I had soaked overnite and some black pepper.I made two batches,We had them fried and In the soup. Extra for the freezer. Thank you for the wonderfull recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I used double the amount of shrimp to the same amount of pork.They came out a little to sweet so I backed off on the brown sugar a little. I used chicken base to make a light broth and simmered it with whole garlic cloves and a few coins of ginger. I removed these before cooking the wontons in that liquid. I did the same thing when making the frozen ones. They did not get gummy at all. I now make this recipe in double and triple quantities to freeze and cook whenever the mood strikes. Absolutely the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this just as the recipe for a gourmet dinner club. It turned out wonderfully! Time consuming but really pretty easy and very delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
We had fun with this recipe this on New Year's Day. Making the filling was pretty straightforward except I couldn't find Chinese rice wine, so I used the rice wine vinegar and I substituted chicken for pork as that was what I had on hand. I hadn't made much Asian food before except for stir fry, so finding the wrappers was a challenge until someone told me they were in the refrigerated produce section of the grocery store. Instead of chopping the fresh ginger root, I peeled back the skin and used a fine grater. The fun part was that the kids and I filled and folded the wrappers together, which reduced the prep time by quite a bit. The best part is they want to do it every year now. I would make sure the meat used is precooked, as it doesn't take long for the wrappers to cook and I boiled it in the chicken broth and didn't have any trouble with cloudiness. I also doubled this to feed our family of four. Glad I did, as it made just barely enough for us. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
wonderful!! Thanks for the recipe. It made for a great quick pick up dinner for us and friends. and the left over wontons are in the freezer for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was really fun to make...once, it is a little bit of work(just time consuming) filling and folding all of the wontons but very yummy! It does turn out just like the restaurants, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States