Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I will be honest- I was worried that the pork woud not be cooked thru, but not to worry! This was really good... I forgot the brown sugar but didnt miss it at all. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is seriously a delicious recipe! I added my own little flare of course but, I don't think I've yielded better results for a won ton soup recipe before. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shuarwai

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I made this tonight as part of our New Year's dinner and it was great! I followed as written, and added a couple tbsp grated carrot (to the meat mixture and the broth) and a tbsp oyster sauce to the meat. I did substitute ground pork and ground ginger bc that is what I had. I found that there was not enough of the broth so I doubled it and that worked for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleLove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I thought this soup tasted absolutely wonderful! There were a few changes that I would make myself, based off of what I've had most of my life. I noticed other people added vegetables. I would highly recommend that. Perhaps some celery or mushrooms. I also thought that the pork would be better if it were grounded or something, rather than having it chopped coarsely. And I also thought that the soup could use more than 3 cups of chicken stock. My husband loved this soup, but felt like there was not enough "broth" part for how many wontons were in the soup. I doubled the amount of chicken stock which I thought would be perfect. The next time I make this I'm going to add other vegetables, shrimp, and more chicken stock than the recipe called for. The general flavor overall was really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakamaeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is a good base recipe for when I'm craving wonton soup & its pretty darn good! But its still not quite as good as the resturants. Still, I'd make it again when I'm in the mood for some & don't wanna go out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was really delicious! I made it according to the recipe with the exception of the brown sugar. I used sweet rice wine, so I skipped the sugar just in case it would be too sweet, and it was perfect. Next time I make it, I'll try the modifications suggested by other reviewers ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
this was an awesome recipe. Thank you. I will be making again and again. My family loved this and trust me when I say I have picky eaters :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv2Luv_Luv2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Pretty tasty! I added finely diced cabbage to the filling mix (personal preference) and put some thinly sliced mushrooms in the broth. Everyone enjoyed this meal. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calizen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
i did not like this recipe. the wonton soup didn't really taste like the one in the restaurant. and i did follow the recipe like it says. don't like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I thought these were spot on. Very close to what I might order at a good chinese joint. I used regular versus light soy because I had none at hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States