Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and it is amazing. I always modify it a little based on what I have on hand but as a base guideline it is a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I thought this recipe was delicious. I did add some sesame oil with the broth as others suggested. I also boiled the won tons separately in water first as others suggested. I did cook my ground pork and shrimp to almost done prior to putting into the wrappers. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My husband doesn't like soup, so I pan fried half the wontons in oil for him and used the other half to make soup for myself. Well, my wontons fell apart while cooking the soup. But that was probably my fault and it actually turned out delicious anyway!! Next time I will skip the hassle of making wontons for soup and instead make a Chinese Chicken Noodle soup using egg noodles instead of wontons and chicken instead of pork and shrimp. The brown sugar, ginger, rice wine, soy sauce, and chicken stock made a WONDERFUL tasting broth. As for the pan fried wontons I made for the hubby, they turned out awesome as well! I will definitely make them again using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
OMG this was an absolute hit in My home!!!I added Bock chow, Celery and Crab meat..... Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
A very tasty and comforting soup! I grew up eating wonton soup and I love chinese dumplings. I use fresh ingredients and lots of freshly grated ginger. I love the ginger-y and garlic taste in my wontons. I omitted the brown sugar in my wonton mixture. Did not have chinese rice wine but added light soy sauce, sesame oil, Hawaiian sea salt and black pepper for taste. Once I place the meat filling onto the center of the wonton wrapper, I moistened the edges of wonton wrap with water and seal the edges. I boiled them in a pot of water until they floated to the top then set them aside while I heated up my 3 cups of chicken broth. I added sliced char siu to my soup along with some mustard green cabbage. Lastly I garnished my soup with sprinkles of chopped green onions. A nice balance of flavors of the wonton and veggies with the hot chicken soup. This is also a wonderful meal especially for those cold rainy nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was wonderful! I used rice vinegar instead of rice wine because that is what I had. I also added a little bit of garlic to the wontons. I took others advice and cooked the wontons in water before adding them to the stock. My husband and I ate almost the whole pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
We used this for our Chinese New Year's feast, and all agreed this was pretty close! Remember to pre-boil the wontons until nearly cooked (when they float basically) and finish cooking them in the heated broth. This keeps your soup from looking cloudy! Thanks for a great wonton formula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Just finished making this soup. Had to make it TWICE because my kids devoured it. I had bought a bag of Jimmy Dean sausage crumbles in a bag for my Thanksgiving stuffing but use it for this recipe instead. WOW. the flavor was fantastic. I also added minced ginger from a jar (Christopher Ranch) and quite a bit of sesame oil to broth. I also added sliced water chesnuts to broth to make it a little tiny bit more substantial. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Pretty good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Absolutely delicious... making the wontons are rather time-consuming, but well worth it. I used ground pork, skipped the shrimp and just used a little extra pork and it came out great. I also added extra chopped ginger (cut into matchsticks) to the broth for some additional flavor - was a huge hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States