Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
All I can say is YUM! Fun and easy, just time consuming. I will definitely make more of these wontons and freeze them. I cooked them for 5 minutes in seperate water before adding them to the broth, through I don't think it was completely necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Thanks for the delicious recipe. In place of the pork I used freshly ground chicken that I ground with the grinder attachment on the kitchenaid. I added finely minced onion and garlic, and an extra tablespoon of soy sauce in with the meat mixture. It was outstanding. I doubled the recipe and fried some wontons and they were amazing too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Cornely

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I just can't thank you enough! As someone who does not eat pork and who has moved way too far from THE ONE Chinese restaurant that offers chicken wonton soup (did I mention that I'm addicted to the stuff?!), I am beyond thrilled that you posted this recipe. Truth be told, I was very hesitant and prepared myself to be disappointed. I replaced the pork with ground chicken and just threw some beautiful, large cooked shrimp into the broth along with some bok choy and it was FABULOUS! Better than the restaurant version. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. No doubt, this recipe will be in my family for years and years. Again, many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
What a great recipe. I used Isernio's Hot Italian Chicken sausage instead of the pork. I didn't have any Rice wine so I used Rice Vinegar. I also added some shreaded carrots. Super yummy! Youtube has videos on how to fold the wontons. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was a really tasty and easy recipe. I just felt the the broth could use a little spicing up so i added some hot sauce lime juice and rice vinegar to it before boiling the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I'm Chinese and this is a good traditional recipe. I skipped the brown sugar and added more shrimp. I also cooked the won tons in a separate pot of boiling water before putting them in the stock. These are also great deep fried with a sweet and sour sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Luv this stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Okay I eat/make A LOT of wonton soup and this is a very, very good base recipe. Let me make some suggestions that will hopefully help someone: 1. add some breadcrumbs (not too many) to mixture and an egg; this will cause the filling to stay together and gives it sealed in flavor. 2. do not use just water to seal the wonton wrapper. Use 1tbs flour and 1tbs water (mix together to form paste) to close wonton wrapper and fold into dumpling shape. Also I suggest definitely boiling the dumplings in water for 4-6 minutes before putting them into boiling broth. I add 1-2 tsp of soy sauce into my broth (this depends on taste). Hope this helps! Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cm28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Sorry but this did not work out for us. I reduced the amount of ginger and still it overpowered the dish. The tiny eggroll wrappers are tricky to work with but the spring roll wrappers would be too bulky. I will let the pros at the chinese restaurant make this for me the next time I get hungry for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Loved it!! I stink at making the wontons though. They were ugly and most of them fell apart. Anyone who has a trick for this, please let me know. Next time, I think I may try to use whole shrimp and leave out the pork in order to save time. I changed the following.... 1. I made more broth because we loved it! 2. I added a little soy sauce to the broth. 3. I added a little ground ginger to the broth. So yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keuliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States