Wonton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Uncle George Great Wonton, I added some shitake mushrooms that I had soaked overnite and some black pepper.I made two batches,We had them fried and In the soup. Extra for the freezer. Thank you for the wonderfull recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I used double the amount of shrimp to the same amount of pork.They came out a little to sweet so I backed off on the brown sugar a little. I used chicken base to make a light broth and simmered it with whole garlic cloves and a few coins of ginger. I removed these before cooking the wontons in that liquid. I did the same thing when making the frozen ones. They did not get gummy at all. I now make this recipe in double and triple quantities to freeze and cook whenever the mood strikes. Absolutely the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made this just as the recipe for a gourmet dinner club. It turned out wonderfully! Time consuming but really pretty easy and very delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
We had fun with this recipe this on New Year's Day. Making the filling was pretty straightforward except I couldn't find Chinese rice wine, so I used the rice wine vinegar and I substituted chicken for pork as that was what I had on hand. I hadn't made much Asian food before except for stir fry, so finding the wrappers was a challenge until someone told me they were in the refrigerated produce section of the grocery store. Instead of chopping the fresh ginger root, I peeled back the skin and used a fine grater. The fun part was that the kids and I filled and folded the wrappers together, which reduced the prep time by quite a bit. The best part is they want to do it every year now. I would make sure the meat used is precooked, as it doesn't take long for the wrappers to cook and I boiled it in the chicken broth and didn't have any trouble with cloudiness. I also doubled this to feed our family of four. Glad I did, as it made just barely enough for us. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
wonderful!! Thanks for the recipe. It made for a great quick pick up dinner for us and friends. and the left over wontons are in the freezer for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This was really fun to make...once, it is a little bit of work(just time consuming) filling and folding all of the wontons but very yummy! It does turn out just like the restaurants, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This soup was great after I took the advice of a few other reviewers. I added freshly chopped ginger (I got it in a package of storebought sushi), rice vinegar, and soy sauce to kick up the flavor of the broth. My 10yo, who loves wonton soup, said the broth tasted just like her favorite restaurant's soup. I also stirred in some fresh spinach leaves and cooked, thinly-sliced carrots when the broth was hot. I increased the chicken stock from 3 cups to about 10 cups, because I have a family of 8. Since the younger kids did not love this soup, next time I'll use about 6 cups of broth. I couldn't find any wonton wrappers so I used frozen potstickers, and boiled them in a separate pot before putting them in the soup. I'm sure it would taste even better with homemade wontons, and will look harder to find the wrappers next time I make this soup. There will be a next time, since it was delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I absolutely love wonton soup and eat it by the bucket at any chinese food restaurant... and now this recipe ensures I can make my own delicious soup at home! With the amount of filling this recipe calls for, I make about 25-30 wontons which I find needs about 8-10 cups of chicken broth - because I love broth (half from a box and half from boullion cubes). I've used both chopped up cooked pork, and raw ground turkey and they were both good. To the broth, I add half a box of sliced mushrooms, a thinly sliced carrot, a bit of chopped cabbage and a couple chunks of ginger. I boil the wontons separately in water, then I boil the broth with all of the veggies and ginger in it, then remove the ginger chunks and add the wontons. Even my husband loves this, and he's usually not a big fan of wonton soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kieria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I`m of Chinese descent and have never tried to make these on my own. I was a bit baffled when my friend asked me to cook this, but this recipe was fantastic. I didn`t have rice wine on hand, but I read another reviewer used rice vinegar instead. I didn`t have that either - but I did have some powdered rice vingegar seasoning that is used to prepare sushi rice so I substituted that instead and the taste was still great. Also, I use only egg whites for sealing up the wonton wrappers, so I put the single egg yolk into the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archangeli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This may have been operator error, but I really found this tedious and rather pointless in the end. The recipe resulted in rather bland soup that I was disappointed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States