Wonderful Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
If using the Self-Rising flour omit the salt, baking soda and baking powder. Recipe was spot on for batter consistency. I followed the recipe as stated except for the flour. I never buy All-Purpose so I adjusted for the Self-Rising. I made 2 batches, one was plain and the other was more flavorful. I added 1/2 tsp on vanilla and about 1/2 cup of blueberries. The dash of vanilla and blueberries made a great waffle. I think one should add a dash of vanilla if using the original recipe for extra flavor. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
the title says it all...they were VERY good...and i luv it when the dh says these are REALLY good...i made them for him for his valentine's breaky today...am sure he will be asking for them again...i was impressed how nice and fluffy and tasty they were...i didn't change or add a thing to this recipe...i got 16 waffles so i froze some for the future...but thanks so very much for sharing this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These were wonderful. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I used dark brown sugar and added just a pinch of sugar to the egg whites. Will definitely used this again--the are well worth the time and effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have made this recipe twice and found that I need to bake the waffles on a higher temperature that I usually do. Otherwise, they are sort of rubbery, even though they have folded in beaten egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Pretty good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSIKORA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra M.
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
If you only have one mixer: get out two big bowls and a little bowl. Start by separating the eggs and whipping the whites in one of the big bowls. (set that aside) In the little bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt with the mixer. In the other big bowl, whip the brown sugar and the egg yolks, then whip in the softened butter. Pour the buttermilk into that mixture and keep mixing until it's all creamy. Put away the mixer! Use a spatula to combine the flour and buttermilk mixture. Then mix in a quarter of the whipped egg whites with that spatula. The last of the whipped egg whites will then easily and gently fold in with your spatula. You are going to love these waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made these for the first time this morning. They were delicious! I only had 1 cup of buttermilk and didn't want to make sour milk, so I used 1 cup of buttermilk and 1 cup of nonfat milk. Also, I did as other reviewers have said and added the entire egg, without separating them first. I only had whole wheat pastry flour on hand, but they still turned out great and the texture was wonderful. This recipe did make quite a few waffles for our small family, so I was able to freeze a couple extras. Thanks for the great recipe! I'll make it next time as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Delicious!! Made these for breakfast this a.m. and they were a hit!! The only variation I made to the recipe was to add 1 TBLS of Vanilla. Beating the egg whites does add a little time to the recipe, but it is oh-so-worth-it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911boxer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Worth beating egg whites for! I substitute 1/3 to 1/2 of the white flour with brown and they're still nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
These waffles are awesome! They seem like a bit of work but really it's not much, especially considering how great they turn out. I would suggest preparing it like the directions say, or at least whipping the egg whites so the waffles are nice and fluffy. I also add cinnamon or vanilla extract sometimes...both are very nice additions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States