Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was a really simple dish to put together and then it was was just waiting after that. This had a red pepper flavor and a little heat to it. I was expecting a barbecue flavor and this wasn't. It was a bit tomatoey and had heat and wasn't bad at all. I browned my short ribs first and then cooked these as directed. When this was finished the bones had fallen right off the meat and this made a nice sauce. I liked the sauce over rice very much. The meat wasn't really that tender and I still had to use a knife to cut mine. I don't know why as it simmered for almost 3 hours and the bones fell out. We liked this okay but aren't big fans of short ribs so we won't be fixing it again. I think the addition of some garlic would have given it more depth of flavor and another dimension. This was really easy to fix, it just wasn't our thing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Excellent recipe! I used my crockpot and they turned out delicious. I did add a can of diced tomatoes along with the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Super tender. Served over mashed potatoes. However, a little too much tomato taste for me (and I love tomato-based recipes). I thought that the tomato flavor overpowered the beef flavor. Will use this as a base recipe and tweak to more of our tastes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I used a pasta sauce I had, it was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Made the sauce exactly as written. Only had a rack of pork ribs & wouldn't fit into a pot on top of the stove, so put in my turkey roasting pan & sliced the onions on top of them & then poured the sauce over, covered the pan & baked at 325 degrees for about 4 hours. Turned out very tender & very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Loved this recipe, delicious! I sear the meat first, remove and sauté onion and garlic in the drippings, deglaze with a little water. Then add remaining ingredients. cook in the oven 2-3 hours until the meat falls off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this recipe as written, for the most part. I did take the advice of others and baked them in the oven first to try and reduce the fat. I poured off quite a bit. I also added mushrooms and carrots, omitted the bay leaves, and added about 1/2 cup red wine & cooked all in the crock pot on high for about 4 hours. The sauce came out perfect. I am rating it based on the comments of my family. I do not care for beef and this was much too fatty for me. Considering how high in calories and fat this dish is, I am surprised by some of the comments about how often they make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this tonight following the recipe as instructed (added 2 cloves of garlic) and it was fabulous. We served the sauce over the meat and rigatoni and had a nice side salad. We topped our pasta with parmesan cheese. I only wish I had some crusty French bread to soak up more sauce. This will be our go-to short rib recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
The flavor of the braising sauce was very good - I am trying to avoid sugar whenever possible, so I chopped up a carrot for some sweetness instead of the sugar, but other than that, I followed the recipe. So five stars for flavor and tenderness, but I think I am just not a huge fan of short ribs as a cut of meat. Maybe I did not prep them correctly, but the amount of fat and the connective tissue was just off-putting to me. I ended up taking everything off the bone and trying to get all the gristly stuff out of the pot, then I just shredded everything and saved it for dinner the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
What a great recipe! So easy and with ingredients I have on hand. Made it as stated and it was wonderful. I thought it would be greasy cooking it all together but it wasn't. Will definitely make again, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States