Wonderful Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this recipe as written, for the most part. I did take the advice of others and baked them in the oven first to try and reduce the fat. I poured off quite a bit. I also added mushrooms and carrots, omitted the bay leaves, and added about 1/2 cup red wine & cooked all in the crock pot on high for about 4 hours. The sauce came out perfect. I am rating it based on the comments of my family. I do not care for beef and this was much too fatty for me. Considering how high in calories and fat this dish is, I am surprised by some of the comments about how often they make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this tonight following the recipe as instructed (added 2 cloves of garlic) and it was fabulous. We served the sauce over the meat and rigatoni and had a nice side salad. We topped our pasta with parmesan cheese. I only wish I had some crusty French bread to soak up more sauce. This will be our go-to short rib recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
The flavor of the braising sauce was very good - I am trying to avoid sugar whenever possible, so I chopped up a carrot for some sweetness instead of the sugar, but other than that, I followed the recipe. So five stars for flavor and tenderness, but I think I am just not a huge fan of short ribs as a cut of meat. Maybe I did not prep them correctly, but the amount of fat and the connective tissue was just off-putting to me. I ended up taking everything off the bone and trying to get all the gristly stuff out of the pot, then I just shredded everything and saved it for dinner the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
What a great recipe! So easy and with ingredients I have on hand. Made it as stated and it was wonderful. I thought it would be greasy cooking it all together but it wasn't. Will definitely make again, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I have made this several times and it is one of our favorite meals. I do brown the meat beforehand and it comes out great. It is a very easy recipe to make and so so tasty! The sauce is great over rice or even mashed potatoes. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I seared the short ribs first, removed them, then started with the onions. That's the only thing I did differently. This is delicious with just a little kick from the red pepper. I served them over quinoa, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rural chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Iuka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved it so much going to try it for a dinner party of 16!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Really good! This recipe was not at all what I expected. The ingredients all work together to make this sort of BBQ sauce that is so good. I served this over rice with a side of steamed broccoli. YUMMY! It would be even better with a stew meat instead of the ribs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States