Wonderful Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Good tasting meatloaf. TO SOLVE THE "FALLING APART" PROBLEM YOU CAN: 1. DECREASE THE RICE BY 1/4 CUP 2. ADD EITHER 1/4 CUP OF BREAD CRUMBS OR TOASTED WHEAT GERM. 3. ADD ONE LARGE BEATEN EGG. This should give you a firmer loaf suitable for slicing. I always double the recipe and have sliced and lightly fried (in olive oil) meatloaf the third day. My family actually prefers it this way and it is a great time-saving suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This recipe was so delicious! I made it for dinner tonight and everyone loved it. I used a cup of uncooked Minute Rice instead of cooked rice and it held together perfectly. I'll probably use this recipe more than I use my other meat loaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Living In: ???, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was very good. I didn't have a loaf pan so I combined the ingredients and shaped this into a loaf and baked it in a pyrex dish. I don't recommend doing this because the loaf spreads and doesn't retain the loaf form very well. I will use the loaf pan (as recommended) the next time I make this. It will be the first dish I think of when I have left over white rice on hand as it is perfect for using leftover rice with. Also, this would be a good recipe for people who like to stuff green peppers. We enjoyed the sweet taste this meatloaf offered it was not overwhelming. But like other reviewers have noted it needs salt and pepper for sure! Very easy to prepare especially if rice is already made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was great. I added an egg and put it in the crock-pot all day!! My husband and 1 1/2yr old LOVED it!!! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyBull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This was a very easy and tasty meatloaf! My son and husband, who are both pretty picky, liked it a lot and said I can make it again!! I did change it up a bit though after reading through everyone elses reviews...first off, I changed the servings to 6. I used almost 2lbs of ground chuck. I added one egg and 1/4 cup bread crumbs to help it stay formed. I used about 2 Tblsp Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce for mixing and only used ketchup to top the loaf with at the end. I only used 2 tsps of brown sugar and I added garlic salt and regular salt as well as coarse ground pepper and minced garlic. I used about one cup of cooked rice instead of a little more like it called for. I definately reccomend this recipe, it is very easy and quite tasty!! We really liked it and will be making it again sometime soon I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
The meatloaf was very tasty, but I did add salt and pepper. When I took the meatloaf out of the form it began to fall apart, so next time I will use an egg to hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Black

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was a great tasting recipe. I added 3 tbsp of ketchup to the hamburger instead of the 1. I also added some salt and pepper. Next time I will use an egg as well to help hold it together a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I went with a full cup or rice and added sale and pepper. The rice adds a wonderful texture and taste, first meatloaf I've made that doesn't use an egg. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
way too sweet....it was like eating candied beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
Hi, Great recipe - auick and a great use for left-over rice. I use more rice and have been using brown rice and it's quite good. Makes for a great gluten-free recipe that hubby just asked for again tonight and so did my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States