Wonderful Fried Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used tilapia to make my fish tacos and they were delicious. I made my own simple tartar sauce (mayo, relish, lemon juice) and added chili powder to the mixture. I also sprinkled a bit of Rose's lime juice on each taco which ended up being a great addition. Definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made this beer batter for my tilapia that I wanted to deep fry in oil...the batter was great on the fish. I just cubed up the tilapia, dipped it in the batter, and then deep fried in hot oil till golden. :o) I did not use the rest of the recipe though...so, I'm really only giving the beer batter the stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This is great...definitely add some extra seasoning to the batter if you like it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have used this recipe many times since finding it here. You have to adjust spices to your liking, but the easiest part is remembering that beer to flour ratio is about equal parts. Dry your fish with paper towels and dredge in flour first before the batter.. fries up very nicely! I make a tarter sauce with mayo, pickle relish (sweet), lemon or lime juice, cayenne pepper & cumin. This is awesome!! I've been on a fish kick since finding it.. I'm ready for some more soon. Cod or Haddock are great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Great recipe--the beer batter is delicious. It was a very different taste, but we really enjoyed it with spicy salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
Excellent recipe! My husband and I make these regularly. They don't lack zip at all if you use spicy salsa (try Green Mountain Gringo Hot) and a healthy dousing of lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This recipe was wonderful after I added seasoning salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the batter. I did not serve it with a salsa but rather a mix of chopped tomatoes, cilantro and onion (no juices) and made a sauce of mayo, lime juice, fresh crushed garlic, diced jalapeno, and chili powder. The sauce and that bit of flavor punch makes all the difference. Add some shredded jack cheese to the tacos too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
My husband & I loved this recipe. After reading some comments about needing something. I opted to add Old Bay and season salt. Kids ate everything. It's a keeper. Thanks for helping me cook like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! The hole family loved it! I did add sour cream and onion, lime juice, and chili powder. Very Good.=]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States