Wonderful Fried Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This recipe was wonderful after I added seasoning salt, pepper, and garlic powder to the batter. I did not serve it with a salsa but rather a mix of chopped tomatoes, cilantro and onion (no juices) and made a sauce of mayo, lime juice, fresh crushed garlic, diced jalapeno, and chili powder. The sauce and that bit of flavor punch makes all the difference. Add some shredded jack cheese to the tacos too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I had a hankering for a fish taco and found this recipe. I thought it was great - only thing I would add is that it lacked "zip" so I think the next time I make it I will add some spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have used this recipe many times since finding it here. You have to adjust spices to your liking, but the easiest part is remembering that beer to flour ratio is about equal parts. Dry your fish with paper towels and dredge in flour first before the batter.. fries up very nicely! I make a tarter sauce with mayo, pickle relish (sweet), lemon or lime juice, cayenne pepper & cumin. This is awesome!! I've been on a fish kick since finding it.. I'm ready for some more soon. Cod or Haddock are great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This is delicious! Having moved from just NORTH of the border to the midwest, I have a craving for fish tacos regularly. This recipe is exactly like they are made in so cal. It does lack zip, but so do the authentic ones from Mexico! The beauty of not putting the spices in the batter is to ADD spice to each individual's liking AFTER. Great recipe - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I made this the other night and wonderful doesn't even describe how good these where! I used Bud Light for the beer because thats what I had on hand. I also used tilapia fish. Instead of just mayo for the white sauce I mixed equal parts of sour cream and mayo and a dash of cumin and about a tsp of lime juice. I also made my own tomitillo salsa and pico de gallo. These were better then the tacos you can buy out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Carthage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
Great recipe--the beer batter is delicious. It was a very different taste, but we really enjoyed it with spicy salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Redwood City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I used tilapia fillets for my fish tacos. I didn't have any dark beer on hand so I used lite beer. Also, I dressed my cabbage up a bit with mayo, lime and some chopped onion. The fish fillets came out nice and crispy. Next time I might add cayenne pepper to the batter for the adults that like it spicy. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used tilapia to make my fish tacos and they were delicious. I made my own simple tartar sauce (mayo, relish, lemon juice) and added chili powder to the mixture. I also sprinkled a bit of Rose's lime juice on each taco which ended up being a great addition. Definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
these are super easy to make and very very good. i make them quite often and even used the batter for shrimp tacos as well. it was a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
This is great...definitely add some extra seasoning to the batter if you like it spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States