Wonderful Fried Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is a good basic recipe to use as a starting point, but I agree with other reviewers that it needs more seasoning. I also felt the batter was too thin and thickened it by using 1 c. flour to 3/4 c. beer. Then added ground red pepper for heat, about 2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. pepper and some onion powder for seasoning and served it as fish tacos with my favorite "tartar sauce" coleslaw - Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made this beer batter for my tilapia that I wanted to deep fry in oil...the batter was great on the fish. I just cubed up the tilapia, dipped it in the batter, and then deep fried in hot oil till golden. :o) I did not use the rest of the recipe though...so, I'm really only giving the beer batter the stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was wonderful! The hole family loved it! I did add sour cream and onion, lime juice, and chili powder. Very Good.=]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I used tilapia to make my fish tacos and they were delicious. I made my own simple tartar sauce (mayo, relish, lemon juice) and added chili powder to the mixture. I also sprinkled a bit of Rose's lime juice on each taco which ended up being a great addition. Definitely try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
My husband & I loved this recipe. After reading some comments about needing something. I opted to add Old Bay and season salt. Kids ate everything. It's a keeper. Thanks for helping me cook like a pro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I made this the other night and wonderful doesn't even describe how good these where! I used Bud Light for the beer because thats what I had on hand. I also used tilapia fish. Instead of just mayo for the white sauce I mixed equal parts of sour cream and mayo and a dash of cumin and about a tsp of lime juice. I also made my own tomitillo salsa and pico de gallo. These were better then the tacos you can buy out. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Carthage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Yummy! I added a little more salt, pepper and some spices that I had around the cupboard (dill, thyme), but not really necessary. I also added onions to fry along with the fish. Thanks for this tasty recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estelí, Estelí, Nicaragua
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I tried this recipe on Ash Wednesday of this week, my family & I had never had fish tacos before. These were so easy to make and so good! Even my kids enjoyed them! I did not have cabbage, so I used shredded lettuce instead, the results were still delicious. I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
the batter was very thick and bland. i would add more beer and include more spices if you want flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States