Wonderful Fried Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I've made a recipe similar to this for years. I use Tempura instead of flour though; also I add a few sprinkles of Cheyenne pepper to the mayonnaise, along with a little lime juice to add a zing. It makes it more like a dressing to add to the tacos. I also top it with shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Oregon, USA
Living In: Junction City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is a pretty close version of a real fish tacofound in Mexico and California. They are not supposed to be spicy but to each his own. I also mix the mayo with a little pickle relish and lime juice and then squeeze fresh lime juice on the assembled taco before eating. That's how they are typically served in SoCal. Pair with refried beans, rice and some tortilla chips and you can't tell the difference between this meal and one served at LaSalsa! Yum! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Great recipe. I just added diced avocado and hot sauce.Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
A necessary addition that we see here in Texas is some chopped fresh cilantro mixed with the cabbage - amount to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I was expecting a fluffy crispy batter and was I disappointed. Although I seasoned the flour because of other recommendations, that did not help. After coating and cooking the tilapia, the consistency of the batter was thick and blah. Won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I love these fried Fish Tacos, so good. I swear I was ordering it right out of a Taco stand. No changes here. Made it for supper and I'll continue to make again. Added some hot sauce and lemon on top of the fish just before devouring it. YUM :=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I used tilapia fillets for my fish tacos. I didn't have any dark beer on hand so I used lite beer. Also, I dressed my cabbage up a bit with mayo, lime and some chopped onion. The fish fillets came out nice and crispy. Next time I might add cayenne pepper to the batter for the adults that like it spicy. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
these are super easy to make and very very good. i make them quite often and even used the batter for shrimp tacos as well. it was a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have used this recipe many times since finding it here. You have to adjust spices to your liking, but the easiest part is remembering that beer to flour ratio is about equal parts. Dry your fish with paper towels and dredge in flour first before the batter.. fries up very nicely! I make a tarter sauce with mayo, pickle relish (sweet), lemon or lime juice, cayenne pepper & cumin. This is awesome!! I've been on a fish kick since finding it.. I'm ready for some more soon. Cod or Haddock are great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I thought these were pretty great. I added some cumin, cayenne pepper, and fresh cilantro to the batter mix and it was a nice little kick. Pretty easy to make, though frying in small batches took a while. I also just used flour tortillas as that was what we had on hand as well as lettuce instead of cabbage. I also made a fruit salsa with pineapple, dried mango, the juice of an orange and a lime, and some cilantro and mint. Very tasty. Oh yes, I also mixed half sour cream and half mayonnaise as I'm not a huge fan of plain mayo. Very good with a great response from the S.O., and I had never even had fish tacos before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States