Wonderful Chicken Curry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This is definitely one of my favorites. I use a slightly different recipes, but it's rather close. To cut down on the fat, I use a 6 ounce carton of yogurt, and since I'm normally making 2 servings, I only use 3 skinless boneless chicken breasts and 1/2 C of SUGAR-FREE chutney. I also toss in different nuts and fruits...sometimes sunflower seeds (1/2 C) or slivered almonds, instead of the pecans, or 1/4 C raisins and 1/2 C diced apples instead of the grapes. I prefer to omit the onion. My version has about 300 calories per serving, makes 2 main dish servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This salad is beyond yummy! It's very formal and would definitely be the star of any meal. As a note, 3/4 cup is an entire 9 oz. bottle of chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I use Major Grey's Mango Chutnet with this recipes, although others would probobly be just as good. It really is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Made this recipe for a 40th bday party. It was gobbled up quick - the hit of the party (it even stole the spotlight from the bacon-wrapped dates!) I used canned chicken and served it in little pastry shells. I think I used 3 boxes of shells - will get more next time since I had alot more salad than shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Best chicken salad I ever ate! I substituted fat-free yogurt for the mayo and used 2 Tbsp. yellow raisins in place of the grapes. I used romaine lettuce leaves to make chicken salad wraps - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was a good recipe. I couldn't follow the recipe exactly because I needed to use stuff that I had in my cupboards/fridge. So I did things a little differently, but that just proves it is a good base recipe and very adaptable. I also felt that there was too much mayo. Next time I would go with a 3/4 cup. I also chose to grate the onion and used only about 2.5 TBSP of grated onion. I also used cashews instead of pecans. Here are some substitutions that I made with stuff I had on hand. Replaced 1c grapes with 1c peeled, chopped apple. Replaced 3/4c chutney with some strawberry jam. Added a splash of lemon juice. Added a dash of paprika for color. It was yummy with butter lettuce on bakery rolls! I think it would be good in a wrap as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This is a very unique twist on chicken salad. I took it to a Sunday Brunch party using the serving method suggested by Kim. Not only was it a beautiful platter, but everyone really enjoyed the flaky pastry shell idea. Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I used mango chutney as suggested, and shallot rather than onion. Served over lettuce with rice and fresh mango. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
My favorite chicken salad recipe! My signature dish at potlucks and cook outs, sometimes I add a head of sliced lettuce just before serving instead of using it for sandwiches or pastries. The recipe is so adaptable and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
An absolute hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States