Wonderful Chicken Curry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This is definitely one of my favorites. I use a slightly different recipes, but it's rather close. To cut down on the fat, I use a 6 ounce carton of yogurt, and since I'm normally making 2 servings, I only use 3 skinless boneless chicken breasts and 1/2 C of SUGAR-FREE chutney. I also toss in different nuts and fruits...sometimes sunflower seeds (1/2 C) or slivered almonds, instead of the pecans, or 1/4 C raisins and 1/2 C diced apples instead of the grapes. I prefer to omit the onion. My version has about 300 calories per serving, makes 2 main dish servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This salad is beyond yummy! It's very formal and would definitely be the star of any meal. As a note, 3/4 cup is an entire 9 oz. bottle of chutney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I use Major Grey's Mango Chutnet with this recipes, although others would probobly be just as good. It really is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Best chicken salad I ever ate! I substituted fat-free yogurt for the mayo and used 2 Tbsp. yellow raisins in place of the grapes. I used romaine lettuce leaves to make chicken salad wraps - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Made this recipe for a 40th bday party. It was gobbled up quick - the hit of the party (it even stole the spotlight from the bacon-wrapped dates!) I used canned chicken and served it in little pastry shells. I think I used 3 boxes of shells - will get more next time since I had alot more salad than shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was a good recipe. I couldn't follow the recipe exactly because I needed to use stuff that I had in my cupboards/fridge. So I did things a little differently, but that just proves it is a good base recipe and very adaptable. I also felt that there was too much mayo. Next time I would go with a 3/4 cup. I also chose to grate the onion and used only about 2.5 TBSP of grated onion. I also used cashews instead of pecans. Here are some substitutions that I made with stuff I had on hand. Replaced 1c grapes with 1c peeled, chopped apple. Replaced 3/4c chutney with some strawberry jam. Added a splash of lemon juice. Added a dash of paprika for color. It was yummy with butter lettuce on bakery rolls! I think it would be good in a wrap as well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabcat
Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I used mango chutney as suggested, and shallot rather than onion. Served over lettuce with rice and fresh mango. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This is a very unique twist on chicken salad. I took it to a Sunday Brunch party using the serving method suggested by Kim. Not only was it a beautiful platter, but everyone really enjoyed the flaky pastry shell idea. Thanks Kim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
My favorite chicken salad recipe! My signature dish at potlucks and cook outs, sometimes I add a head of sliced lettuce just before serving instead of using it for sandwiches or pastries. The recipe is so adaptable and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elyssa Luria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
An absolute hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States