Wonderful Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Update: I made this cake again today and used the baking method in the recipe; placing the cake in a cold oven. I do not recommend this. The cake was overdone on the top and the exterior was rather chewy. I had to take it out at 50 minutes as it was starting to burn. I am going back to the pre-heated oven. 9/17:Wow, this is fabulous! I used a Duncan Hines butter yellow cake mix plus used 3 bananas, added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1 cup of sour cream. This was so very moist and so tasty!!! Delicious! I baked for 40 min in a preheated oven and it was perfect! Thanks so much for an easy and tasty cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Love this recipe but watch the baking time. I didn't read all the reviews and just set my oven timer for 1 hr as directed in recipe. The cake was black. Had to throw out and start over. Baked second cake for just 35 minutes as directed on cake box. Made with 3 bananas, very moist but not mushy at all. Made a frosting of 1 tub of coolwhip, 1 small pkg of bananacream instant pudding and 1 cup of milk. Sprinkled chopped walnuts on frosting. Took to a dessert pot luck and everyone loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
this is an awesome cake. I made a few small changes. I had 2 bananas and wanted it moist so I added 1/2 C applesauce and 2 tsp cinnamon. I made a cream cheese frost: 1 pckg Cream cheese, 1 C butter, 2C confectioner's sugar and 1-2 Tsp vanilla extract. I put this in the fridge while the cake was baking. I let the cake cool, then I cut it in half and put 1/3 of the frost on one half of the cake, then I had frozen blueberries, rasberries and strawberries that I put over the frost. then I put the other 1/3 of frost over the fruit. I put the other half over this and covered it with the rest of the frost and grated toblerone dark chocolate over it. tastes like a million dollars after chilling 1 hour in the fridge. thanks its yummmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Definitely worth the 5 stars! I always have leftover bananas (my kids won't eat them if they have even one spot!) and don't have time for a long complicated recipe. This really fits the bill, and I was pleasantly surprised how good it came out. It smells wonderful while cooking. I pre-heated the oven and baked for 40 minutes which was perfect. I did add 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 cup choc chips. I agree with another reviewer, I don't think it needs the chocolate chips, so I won't be doing that again. It is sweet enough to not need a frosting but is really good with also. I am so glad I found this recipe and highly recommend it. We couldn't wait for it to cool in the fridge, we ate it warm from the oven :) Update: I made this with a Butter Pecan cake mix and it was just as good, if not better. Tip: if you're short on bananas, you can throw in one of those little applesauce cups (I've done this when I've only had 2 bananas, makes the batter thinner but the cake still turns out great in the end, very moist).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
this is the best moist cake ive ever had. my husband begs me to make this twice a month or more. i use for frosting is banana cream instant pudding with using only one cup milk and make it, then ad i 16 ounce container of cool whip and fold the pudding and cool whip together and use that for the frosting.and just keep your cake in the frig. and its like having a cake from some high $$$$$$$ restraunt! gotta try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I don't normally review a recipe, but with this one I just had to! I followed it exactley, with just a few additions. Fisrt I added one extra banana than what was called for, and also added a small package of chopped walnuts (poured them into the dry ingredients so they would not fall to the bottom while baking). I was a little nervous about using fresh bananas (I didn't have any ripe ones on hand) But to my surprise it came out AWESOME!!! It tasted like I spent a ton of time and ingredients on it, which is not the truth at all!! I would recommend this recipe to anyone that enjoys banana cake or bread because you just cant beat how good and easy this one is! I will be making this cake from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I made this and added three bananas and 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. I baked it in 2 9 inch pans at the time recommended on the box. I frosted with with a cream cheese and pecan frosting. It was the best banana cake I have ever made or eaten!! It tastes very homemade. I made a very complicated one several weeks ago and it can't compare to the flavor and moistness of this cake. I threw the long recipe away and have replaced it with this one. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This cake was moist and delicious. It was a big hit with the co-workers.I used others suggestions as follows: I used a preheated 350 degree oven and baked for about 40-45 minutes. I frosted it with a mixture of 1 pkg. banana pudding; 1 cup milk; 1 tub cool whip. Topped it with chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
Oh, my goodness! This cake is so easy to make, and it is so moist and delicious. I followed one reviewer's recommendation and used three bananas instead of two, and it made it even more moist. I would not try using four bananas, though. It definitely did not need a frosting because it is so good as is. Next time I may try a chocolate cake mix and may stir in some chocolate chips or chopped toasted walnuts to make it even yummier. :) One word of caution: I checked my cake after 54 minutes, and the top looked very brown, although this did not affect the taste. I would recommend checking after 50 minutes of baking and test for doneness with a toothpick. This is a perfect dessert to take to any pot-luck function because it is easy to transport also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
MADE THIS WITH THE EXTRA BANANAS, AND FROSTED IT WITH PINEAPPLE FROSTING -- BUTTERCREAM FROSTING BUT WITH PINEAPPLE JUICE AS THE LIQUID. IT GOT RAVE REVIEWS AND NUMEROUS RECIPE REQUESTS. SO EASY AND YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States