Wonderful Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Baked it for 40 min and made a pudding/ whipped topping frosting. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Delicious! I used a Betty Crocker Butter Yellow cake mix (used butter instead of oil). I did add cinnamon as many of the other reviewers did. I made mine into cupcakes instead of a single cake and did preheat the oven and followed the baking directions on the box as others suggested. The cupcakes turned out light, fluffy, moist and delicious. Was planning on frosting them, but my kids (age 5 and 7) ate half of them before I even made the frosting. At that point, decided to save the calories that frosting would have added and we're just eating them like muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Good & fast recipe vs. from scratch. Family loved it. I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla (actually bourbon vanilla but regular will work fine too). I baked in a 10x10 cake pan so it was a little taller. Definitely need to watch the cooking time because it cooked faster (about 45 min). I made a nice buttercream frosting for it and put in refrigerator for at least one hour prior to serving. Will make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This cake is awesome! I used this recipe as my base for a banana pudding poke cake (Yellow cake with a banana pudding layer (I used a Paula Deen recipe that has cream cheese and condensed milk in it) and then a whipped cream and sprinkled with crushed vanilla wafers. It was a little on the rich side, so next time I will cut back on the condensed milk, but everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I took the suggestion of B_32 and made this with a butter pecan cake mix and lemme tell ya. It was fabulous! I took it to work and brought none of it home to my dear hubby. (and man,was he bummed!) I did two things slightly differently. I used 4 smashed bananas (because that's what I had on my kitchen counter) and I cut the amount of water just slightly. I also baked it for appx 35 mins as directed on the cake mix box, and watched it carefully for doneness. There's no way that I'd bake this cake for the amount of time that the recipe calls for. It would be overdone for sure. Frosted this with a simple cream cheese frosting and sprinkled it with toasted walnuts. New favorite go-to recipe for overripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runzwitsizrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swisher, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This cake turned out great! My family enjoyed it too. I added three bananas, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, baked in a pre-heated oven at 350 and check it at 25 minutes. Frosted with a cream cheese pecan frosting as suggested in the reviews. Very yummy! Great way to use up very ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKRichards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Potosi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
everyone loved it...i added 3 bananas also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tripoli, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe again for the second time but added one small package of instant banana pudding powder, 1/2 cup of whole milk, and one tablespoon of banana extract to the batter and it was unbelievable!!!! After it baked and cooled I cut the cake in half and spread more banana pudding in the middle with fresh banana slices and frosted the cake with whipped vanilla frosting and shaved white chocolate for a garnish!!! WOW! It was the best cake ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackwellbakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
My family loved it, I made this cake with a white cake mix(used the whole eggs instead of just the whites) and 4 mashed bananas the cake was very moist. I also made a caramel icing for it and it worked well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
My daughter loves it when I add chocolate chips to it! A delicious easy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sister-woman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States