Wonderful Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great cake. When preparing cake mix, I replaced the oil with 1/2 cup applesauce. Used 2 whole eggs and one egg white. Used 2 1/2 bananas. Turned out great. Daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very good cake and I'm not even a big banana fan. Made with two large bananas but will try three next time. Baked in preheated oven, since it was hot from cooking dinner, and followed the time on the cake mix box using a cake tester until it came out clean. Never got a chance to frost it either. Might try it with nuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was great! I topped it with a homemade brown sugar/cream cheese frosting and it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catglaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Excellent cake! The recipe "as is" worked great for me. My 3 yr old was helped in the mashing of the bananas. It was fun making it, fun decorating it, and it tastes GREAT!! :-) Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I made some changes based on other reviews. I used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of oil, added 1 tsp. vanilla extract, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 cup sliced almonds and used 3 bananas. It was done perfectly after about 45 min. Very moist! Possibly moist to the point where it could be considered a little mushy, but probably my fault because I added that extra banana. I will be making this again- with one less banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
To make a healthier version I replaced the oil in the cake mix directions with 1/2 cup of apple sauce. Also used 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites (directions asked for 3 eggs). I might use 3 egg whites next time. Added 1 tablespoon of whole wheat flour to dry ingredients. Also used whole wheat flour to flour my loaf pan. Baked at 350 degree pre-heated oven for 60 minutes...long cooking time because I used a loaf pan (wanted to resemble banana bread). Let cool for 15 minutes and took out a pan to cool rest of the way. I made a brown sugar glaze instead of frosting. (Followed vanilla glaze recipe but added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar instead of vanilla). Drizzled that on top. Less calories and fat than icing. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Best Cake Ever! I made a coolwhip banna cream pudding mixture as the icing. As someone before had mentioned. I will most definetly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Excellent cake! Both my husband and I enjoyed it. I did bake it about 40 minutes instead of 60 and it came out perfect. Also I just sprinkled powdered sugar on top instead of frosting. Thanks so much Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My family LOVED this cake. My 13 year old son said I should make this on the Food Network (!)...I baked it in a preheated oven for approx 40 minutes (do not overbake), frosted with cream cheese icing and garnished with toasted pecans. A quick dessert fit for company. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Wow! This is outstanding. I almost felt guilty making this cake and passing it off as homemade because of how easy it is. But I used three bananas (small ones) and baked for 40 min. at 350. It came out perfect, moist, and most importantly, lost the "boxed cake" taste. My kids said, "Mom, make this for my birthday cake!". For icing, I used sugar free banana cream pie pudding mix, 1 cup skim milk and 8 oz. lite cool whip. It was so good and was gone in less than 24 hours!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States