Won Ton Wrapper Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I am always strapped for time so instead of making the wonton "bowls" I buy the phyllo cups premaid from the freezer section. They work well, easy to pick up, and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I have made this recipe for a few years now, got it from here. My guests love it and now my sister makes it too for everyone she works with. Only thing I do that may be different from the original recipe is that I double the sausage because I cook it until it's almost gone. I have found that the flavor is fuller this way. But mostly because when my neighbor first introduced me to this recipe, she wasn't cooking the sausage well enough and I would be sick all night! LOL But I still couldn't stop eating them every time she made them. Addicting! Also, I have a brother in law who won't go near an olive, but he will still eat these, even knowing their in there! Certainly worth my time to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I took these to a neighborhood Bunco party and they were a HUGE hit. I omitted the black olives as I'm not an olive fan, added a little bit of garlic salt, crushed red pepper and chopped green scallions. I've also made it using Hot Italian sausage to give it some kick. As a time saver, I generally use the pre-made phyllo shell cups instead of the won tons as you can just throw them on the pan and fill them up and bake for 10-15 and they are ready to go. I've had issues with the won ton wrappers getting rubbery on the bottom and too crisp on the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
These are always a hit. I use chopped red pepper instead of olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Received this recipe a few years ago from a friend and since then it's been a staple at parties. It's always a hit & everyone wants the recipe. I always keep them made up in my freezer. I mix up the filling & put that in a freezer bag (a lot of times I divide into small bags) & then bake up the shells & put those in another bag. Works great because then I can really pull out & make whatever I need!!! One thing I wanted to point out because I don't think the recipe makes it clear, you DO NOT pre-cook the sausage before you mix it into the rest of the ingredients. The sausage will bake fine once you put it into the shells and bake them. Also, much of the flavor of this recipe depends on the sausage you use so make sure you use one that has a good flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNDiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I have been serving this appetizer for a few years now and love it! I always get compliments and requests for the recipe. Although I dislike ranch dressing you don't taste it and I believe it makes the recipe. I also cook the sausage first and use a hot sausage for zip. I omit the olives. It is definitely worth the try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
These were delicious. Liked the prepare ahead feature. Served at a party and several asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Not bad. A fair amount of work for an average appy - I found it a little bland. I'd consider changing the ingredients before making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I have fixed these a couple times. I found the filling was only enough for about 48. I used red bell pepper, onion and a clove of garlic the first time. The second time, I added sliced green onions (scallions) for a little bite. Compliments galore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Protani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Used taco seasoned hamburger instead sausage and only 1/4 cup Ranch dressing and one cup cheese. We called them Taco Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Easy Appetizers

Lots of little bites add up to big fun and a stress-free party.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States