Won Ton Snacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This recipe received raves at an all appetizer extravaganza. I made the filling the day before I served them and stuffed the wontons the morning of the party. I ended up using about 3/4 of a bottle of peanut sauce and I thought they were perfect; no dipping sauce needed. The filling was nice and moist and the wontons crisp. Great recipe! Since my original review I have frozen these after baking and then reheated in the oven--still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Next time I would use less ground pork, up the veggies and add cabbage to take out some of the fat. Also, I used soy instead of the peanut sauce and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
I made this using my favorite wonton filling recipe and was pleasantly surprised with how well the wontons crisped in the oven. I usually fry them and I like this option which saves both time and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
AWESOME recipe! So easy and delicious. Everyone asked what was in it. Instead of the thai peanut sauce I put in soy and hoisin sauce, delicious combination. I also added coleslaw mix instead of the water chestnuts. Made for a great taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
We loved this dish! I made them in regular sized muffin tins, so, not as much an appetizer as a snack and as we had it, a light dinner. I added some powdered ginger and salt and pepper to the meat mixture. I mixed in the thai peanut sauce as directed and found that it was wasted in the meat mixture. For my second batch, I drizzled the sauce on top of the filled cups instead and it was very yummy! But, don't forget to season your meat mixture if you do this, since the recipe relies on the thai peanut sauce for all seasoning. It was yummy, we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
These were pretty easy to make (though we did add prep time in using a round biscuit cutter to cut all of the wontons into circles to make the snacks look nicer). After we put them together, I put a damp towel over the top then wrapped in a big plastic bag to keep the won ton shells moist until baked. Great flavor and presentation - not a typical appetizer - but just as easy really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
Wow! Everybody loved these. Tasted like a won ton in a Chinese restaurant that we can never get enough of. Served with the oriental dipping sauce, they were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
The best! Everyone I've ever made this for raves. I don't add water chestnuts or Thai peanut sauce. Instead I add fresh ginger, finely minced, along with finely chopped green cabbage. Add Thai sweet dipping sauce and hoisin to the mix once all the liquid is evaporated. Serve with Oriental Dipping Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
My daughter Ashley LOVES these. I added more seasonings and folded them in half and deep fried in my fry daddy for our party yesterday. A great appetizer that everyone went nuts over! Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
This easy-to-make, slightly spicy appetizer went over pretty well with my Bunco group. I served more of the Thai peanut sauce on the side to give it a little more zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States