Wolf's Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bruce "Werewolf" McLaren
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
The reviews that state that the alcohol taste is too strong, are probably using a house whiskey. A good name brand should be used to produce a better result. This could be why the ratings are on opposite ends of the scale. I have used Crown because the dish come out tasting great, and I take pride in my culinary creations. I have also used Jameson and gotten excellent results. If Old Crow brand is chosen, even if it is their best 7 day old, I cannot vouch for the results. ;-) Happy Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce "Werewolf" McLaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made this last weekend, it turned out great! I love all the ingrediants, which is what caught my eye, and the combination of them was perfect. I let the chicken sit in the marinade for about 5 hrs, in the fridge. I really wanted to grill the chicken and then cook down the rest of the marinade for a dipping sauce......but couldn't get the grill to turn on! Either way, the family loved it and the chicken was juicy. I will try again with the grill next time and update later. Thanks Wolf for an awesome recipe! :+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
i decided to bbq the chicken instead of cooking it in the oven. It came out full of flavor and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huskymom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a huge hit! Most thought it was the best they ever had. Very flavorful, yet easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I really -- really liked this chicken-- great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
The cooking time definitely has to be adjusted accordingly to the chicken type/pieces you use. Easy to modify the amount of bourbon to your taste. I used Kentucky Straight Bourbon (handmade.) The kind of bourbon you use does play a role in the outcome of the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Absolutely love this, better even than my favorite restaurant's version. Cut up the chicken into bite sized bits. I only had time to marinate for 1 hour, and then I kind of stir fried it on the stove top instead of oven baking. Just added a bit of corn starch at the end to thicken sauce a bit and omitted the wine. Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
It had a really strong liquor taste. Maybe next time I'll make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lthomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Camden, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Only cooked chicken for 1/2 hour and it was still over done. Sauce was very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Outstanding! Used Wild Turkey...I also use fresh garlic and onion. We're going to cook it up on the grill next time, as well as trying the sauce out on wings. Wild Turkey all the way Baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States