Wolf's Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was a easy weeknight meal enjoyed by all, including my four year old. I used whole boneless, skinless thighs and put them in the marinade before work, then when I got home I threw it in the oven with a simple rice pilaf, and dinner was on the table in an hour. I skipped the step of transferring to a skillet and adding the wine at the end because it just seemed like extra dishes to wash! I may try adding just a little corn starch to the sauce next time, so it will thicken slightly in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made this last weekend, it turned out great! I love all the ingrediants, which is what caught my eye, and the combination of them was perfect. I let the chicken sit in the marinade for about 5 hrs, in the fridge. I really wanted to grill the chicken and then cook down the rest of the marinade for a dipping sauce......but couldn't get the grill to turn on! Either way, the family loved it and the chicken was juicy. I will try again with the grill next time and update later. Thanks Wolf for an awesome recipe! :+)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I really -- really liked this chicken-- great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was a huge hit! Most thought it was the best they ever had. Very flavorful, yet easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
i decided to bbq the chicken instead of cooking it in the oven. It came out full of flavor and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huskymom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Absolutely love this, better even than my favorite restaurant's version. Cut up the chicken into bite sized bits. I only had time to marinate for 1 hour, and then I kind of stir fried it on the stove top instead of oven baking. Just added a bit of corn starch at the end to thicken sauce a bit and omitted the wine. Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bruce "Werewolf" McLaren
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
The reviews that state that the alcohol taste is too strong, are probably using a house whiskey. A good name brand should be used to produce a better result. This could be why the ratings are on opposite ends of the scale. I have used Crown because the dish come out tasting great, and I take pride in my culinary creations. I have also used Jameson and gotten excellent results. If Old Crow brand is chosen, even if it is their best 7 day old, I cannot vouch for the results. ;-) Happy Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce "Werewolf" McLaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Outstanding! Used Wild Turkey...I also use fresh garlic and onion. We're going to cook it up on the grill next time, as well as trying the sauce out on wings. Wild Turkey all the way Baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We loved the flavors and versitility of this recipe. We didnt have Burbon so I used Maple Crown. We also dont like chicken breasts so I used legs. The marinade was great and we will be making this again. Next time with boneless thighs., Cant wait
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe. I cooked it for 1 hour, 45 minutes. It turned out great. I followed the suggestions & used a really good bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States