Wolf's Bourbon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Made this just as it's written and it was a little too overpowering for my household. Next time we will be cutting the Bourbon to 1/4 cup. We served it with sticky rice & steamed broccoli, carrot & cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Holy Sodium, Batman! The soy sauce totally takes over. Cut the soy in half, and this recipe is perfect. Our 5-year-old even requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
The cooking time definitely has to be adjusted accordingly to the chicken type/pieces you use. Easy to modify the amount of bourbon to your taste. I used Kentucky Straight Bourbon (handmade.) The kind of bourbon you use does play a role in the outcome of the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Loved this recipe. I cooked it for 1 hour, 45 minutes. It turned out great. I followed the suggestions & used a really good bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We loved the flavors and versitility of this recipe. We didnt have Burbon so I used Maple Crown. We also dont like chicken breasts so I used legs. The marinade was great and we will be making this again. Next time with boneless thighs., Cant wait
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Bartlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swannanoa, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This was a easy weeknight meal enjoyed by all, including my four year old. I used whole boneless, skinless thighs and put them in the marinade before work, then when I got home I threw it in the oven with a simple rice pilaf, and dinner was on the table in an hour. I skipped the step of transferring to a skillet and adding the wine at the end because it just seemed like extra dishes to wash! I may try adding just a little corn starch to the sauce next time, so it will thicken slightly in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Outstanding! Used Wild Turkey...I also use fresh garlic and onion. We're going to cook it up on the grill next time, as well as trying the sauce out on wings. Wild Turkey all the way Baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Bruce "Werewolf" McLaren
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
The reviews that state that the alcohol taste is too strong, are probably using a house whiskey. A good name brand should be used to produce a better result. This could be why the ratings are on opposite ends of the scale. I have used Crown because the dish come out tasting great, and I take pride in my culinary creations. I have also used Jameson and gotten excellent results. If Old Crow brand is chosen, even if it is their best 7 day old, I cannot vouch for the results. ;-) Happy Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce "Werewolf" McLaren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Absolutely love this, better even than my favorite restaurant's version. Cut up the chicken into bite sized bits. I only had time to marinate for 1 hour, and then I kind of stir fried it on the stove top instead of oven baking. Just added a bit of corn starch at the end to thicken sauce a bit and omitted the wine. Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Who cooks chicken for an hour? I made this EXACTLY as written, despite my better judgement. Chicken was dry, tough. Sauce tasted like soy sauce with extra salt in it. After baking, there remains little (if any) liquid to combine with the wine. Compete waste of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States