Witches' Brew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I made this last night for a pre trick or treat party at our house for a group of my kids friends. The taste of the punch was good and very easy to throw together although the hand did not work out for me so I'm only rating this 4 stars. I followed the directions as written and ended up with enough raspberry mixture to fill 2 gloves. I froze them for 2 full days and while I was removing the glove a finger on each hand broke off. The kids thought it was still cool to have the chopped off finger floating in the punch bowl with the hand missing a finger. Very Halloween! I think next time I will just freeze water and make an ice hand. I hope they edit the recipe to indicate "latex free" glove. I used vinyl because you just never know who could have an allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
When I was a child my grandmother would make "punch." She would then make an ice cube hand like the one above. Her's was made wit dry ice however. So when the hand was placed in the punch it would fog. Not only does it keep it cold and look neat; but it has a spooky fog too. She also put red food coloring on it as blood some times too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
great recipe the gelatin keeps the hands from melting, a hit at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
Really cute idea. Using jello for the hand was an ingenious idea. It made this punch look and taste great. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakecookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Great idea....made several of them and had them floating in the bowl or hanging onto the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I bought the most inexpensive gloves I could find. I didn't realize how short they would be so instead of one giant arm I had two hands. I served this at my MOMS Club Halloween Party and everyone thought it was very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Great recipe. Personally, I think the advice about using vinyl in stead of latex gloves is overrated. I have a very severe nut allergy (more common than latex allergy) and I have never seen the same advise when a recipe contains nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was good. I had problems with the hand because the fingers fell off while I was cutting the glove off, but my hand only had about 24 hours to freeze. It was still really cool though because it still looked neat. Kept the punch cool AND it did not lose its form because the jello held it together. Thank you for sharing this idea. Notes for others to consider: pay attention to how long the gloves are if you want there to be an arm this recipe made two gloves for me, both did not have long arms. Try to separate the fingers when freezing as it is this that makes the fingers come off when taking off the glove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I used this recipe many times for parties. The hand coming out of the bowl is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This was a huge hit at our Halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States