Witches' Brew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I did use a differant punch but I used the hand and let it float around in the punch. It was very cool and everyone loved it. when I cut the glove off almost all of the fingers broke off. That could have been because it was only in my freezer for 3 or 4 days before the party and it said to give it a week. next time I will try it that way. by the end of the night the hand was falling apart but since it is made with the gelitine it doesnt really melt and with the rassberry seeds it kind of made it look like muscle fallin off of a bone. very gross but VERY cool looking at the same time everyone thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
The concept was right on the money, but I botched it up... not the fault of the recipe. Here's some tips: 1: Use a razor blade to remove the glove. Just before I broke off pinky and thumb, my husband suggested it. huge difference and I saved all 5 fingers!! 2: my hand wouldn't stay upright. I'm guessing I should have anchored it, or had a more shallow/more narrow bucket. 3: I used a orange dream punch (delicious- search for it). I should have used clear punch to get better effect. 4: I didn't have cranberries, so I mushed up canned pears- worked perfectly. I'll redo this again next year for sure!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
It tasted really good and was a nice attention grabber however I unfortunately broke fingers off the hand...TWICE! I made an extra back up one in case the first one would brake but wasn't a good idea anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corpse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Made this with my children for a Halloween party - it was a HUGE hit!! Do be sure to allow more then overnight for the hand to freeze, and you do want to make the hand with the gelatin because if not, it will melt way too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDNOYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I only used the recipe for the hand. It was so neat! The gelatin made it float for a long time too. Next time though I might try the same idea without the gelatin only because when it DOES start to thaw and fall apart it sort of made the punch look gross and no one wanted to drink the "chunkies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I added the remaining cranberry juice and also about 1/2 bottle of cranrasberry juice it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I cheated and just bought generic cherry jello. It worked just as well as the gelatin and fruit in this recipe, but was very inexpensive and easy! I made the jello according to package directons, put it in the glove and froze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I used this recipe many times for parties. The hand coming out of the bowl is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Have to use more water in ice hand next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This is quite cool for a kids' party. Instead of gummi snakes, I floated gummi eyeballs. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States