Witches' Brew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Had a real hard time getting the hands out of the gloves. All the fingers broke. I think I may have had to much fruit in them. The punch in itself was good until the gooey hand started melting into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
My hand came out pretty good, but I broke a finger..his, not mine...be careful when removing the finger portion of the glove. A few seconds in warm water helped it all slip off better instead of cutting. I'll wear my own gloves next time too because that sucker was cold to handle! The punch is ubber-simple and very good. The hand did a great job of keeping it all cold without any additional ice and yet still kept its form because of the gelatin. Just be sure to refrigerate the cider and ginger-ale the day before to give it a head start! I actually was not able to find any sparkling apple cider so I just used a gallon of plain old apple cider with one 2 liter bottle of ginger-ale. There was still plenty of carbonation from the ginger-ale--especially since it went in cold so there was very little release on pouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Wasn't the best tasting punch but it looked cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Jeffers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Witches Brew was really fun to make and was a big hit with everyone. Thank you so much, very clever. Recipechick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipechick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Great idea, but I'll probably never make this again. Sorry! All the fingers snapped off, except for the thumb :( The kids thought it was still cool, but then decided it looked pretty gross once it started melting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Oh gosh how cute! Well cute might not be the right word, but these were awesome. I used the Red Slush Punch and floated two hands in it. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
What a great idea with the frozen hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Kish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made punch green with ginger ale, sparkling cider and limon Jarritos. Added lychee nuts for eyeballs. For hand, used 1/2 large package of red jello, 1 unflavored gelatin packet, and raspberries. Froze for 2 days. Worked great. Took 5-10 minutes to cut off the glove, so don't do this at the last minute. Cut the glove off and return to freezer until ready to assemble the punch. Popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
do NOT fill hands too much. lay them flat w/ all fingers spread. it will be very hard to take the glove off if the fingers are sticking! not as easy as they make it sound but had a great effect. i made 8 gloves and only 1 survived w/ all 5 fingers after I took the gloves off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Made a couple of these for a kids halloween party and everyone enjoyed them! Great idea and they look creepy as they melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

How to Make Strawberry Smoothies

Watch how to make a healthy yogurt and strawberry smoothie in your blender.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States