Wisconsin Slow Cooker Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great! I have made these a few times, and throughly cooked in the slow cooker with out finishing on the grill. They taste fantastic, and I am highly pleased with the simplicity of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I was a little skeptical about this one, but they turned out great. I only used one beer. I didn't feel like grilling so I put them in the broiler instead. The whole family loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I picked this recipe because it looked easy and I had everything. I started to worry while it cooked because the hot cooking beer smell isnt exactly appetizing to me...but the end result is super! Used one bottle of Mexican beer (all I had) and a yellow onion...grilled for color for about five minutes afterwards. Next time I'm trying the suggested Guinness and red onion...bet its great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
very good...I used the broiler also... beats standing out in the cold for an hour. I only used 1 beer also/ I drank the other 5..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
These are fantastic! I put the brats into the crock pot about four hours before half-time of the football. Then two minutes before the half, we fired up the grill. I served them on hard rolls with Bavarian style sauerkraut and the onions that were in the crock pot. My only suggestion would be to add more onions so you can have more for the topping. (I also used about 12 brats but didn't have to double the beer since it almost covered the them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I make this a lot during the summer. HUGE hit with the boys. I like to serve it with homemade coleslaw to slop on top and homemade jo-jo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Very simple and quick. The brats couldn't have been more tender and tasty. We had them on brat buns, and the baked beans we had with them were delicious with kraut on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Griffith, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Overall, not bad...but probably not something I'd make again. My husband is a fan of bratwurst and since this had so few ingredients and looked so simple I thought I'd give this a try. On top of that there's no shortage of beer in this house so I was able to convince my husband to give up a bottle - LOL. So, for a package of 5 brats I used one bottle vs. two with one whole onion thick sliced and half ketchup, half tomato-based chili sauce along with some minced garlic and a bit of dry mustard. I cooked this on high for 4 hours and they really didn't need to be finished on the grill because they were done. I thickened up the "sauce" that was in the crock pot with a little cornstarch and by leaving the top off. Overall, my husband thought they were pretty good on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I'm sorry, but I just didn't like the taste OR the texture of these! They had a very heavy beer taste and were tender. Guess I'm just used to my brats being grilled all the way. My husband even said too much beer taste. I used Icehouse beer, don't know if that was why. My suggestion would be to maybe only use 1 beer and some chicken broth?? Thanks anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
These were quick and very good. I used Guinness and a red onion. I also used regular ketchup and spicy ketchup combined and then put them under the broiler. They were great. Can't wait to do them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States