Wisconsin Slow Cooker Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Beedubya has it right. Nobody I know in this whole state lets ketchup get anywhere near a brat. Serve on a brat bun with sauerkraut and brown or stone-ground mustard. Now that is a WI brat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were OK but I have to agree with a previous reviewer who did not like the consistancy. It's probably just the way brats come out in the slow cooker, so maybe I'll stick to grilling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
The beer taste was overwhelming, overpowering, over everything. Maybe with only one beer or maybe no beers and broth instead it would be ok, but as it stands it was a waste of good brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I'm a authentic cheesehead and have been making brats for this way for years. The only difference is that I cook the brats in a 4 quart pan on the stovetop with the same ingredients, sans ketchup, and boil them for about 15-20 minutes. After grilling the brats, they can be returned to the simmering pan of liquid until ready for serving. The only reason I didn't give this recipe 5 stars is that in using the slow cooker, it takes about 3 hours 40 minutes longer. When I want brats, I want them now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Delicious, simple, and a great basic recipe suitable for adjusting to your preferences! I have used Amber Bock and red onions and the brats were terrific...I have also used American lagers and yellow and white onions, and that turned out great as well. This is a keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
These are fantastic! I put the brats into the crock pot about four hours before half-time of the football. Then two minutes before the half, we fired up the grill. I served them on hard rolls with Bavarian style sauerkraut and the onions that were in the crock pot. My only suggestion would be to add more onions so you can have more for the topping. (I also used about 12 brats but didn't have to double the beer since it almost covered the them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Great easy recipe, definately a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I'm sorry, but I just didn't like the taste OR the texture of these! They had a very heavy beer taste and were tender. Guess I'm just used to my brats being grilled all the way. My husband even said too much beer taste. I used Icehouse beer, don't know if that was why. My suggestion would be to maybe only use 1 beer and some chicken broth?? Thanks anyway!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I just made these brats and they are absolutely wonderful, juicy and tender. Easy to make (which is good for me). I used a light lager so the meat wouldnt be as bitter than if you used a darker heavy beer. Good Stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARKSACRIFICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Great! I have made these a few times, and throughly cooked in the slow cooker with out finishing on the grill. They taste fantastic, and I am highly pleased with the simplicity of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States