Wisconsin Slow Cooker Brats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This recipe tasted just fine for us. Thank you for posting it. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Um... no!!!! This recipe didn't suit me at all! Before leaving for a family cookout, I threw everything in my slow cooker so that my bf and I would have a "ready-made" dinner when dinnertime rolled around. My bf was full from eating too many burgers at the cookout (which turned out to be a GOOD thing...), so he didn't try this. I had one brat and could barely eat it.... I HAVE had brats of similar consistency (i.e. fork tender) before and liked them very much - Honey Mustard Beer Brats submitted by RICOCHETRABBIT are AWESOME!!!!). The sauce Ly's cook in, however, is VERY soupy (RICOCHETRABBIT's cook in a thin (not "soupy") sauce suitable for serving; this sauce was sooo runny you couldn't possibly serve it spooned over brats/buns). The beer taste was very subtle too (but that could be because I used plain 'ol Budweiser and added nearly 2 tall glasses of water to cover everything as directed). I suppose using a darker beer would enhance the flavor (and that's what I use when making honey mustard beer brats). I will eat the leftovers this week because I can't justify wasting perfectly good brats. Ly's idea sounds appealing, but the end result is anything but.... Oh well, at least I enjoyed the potato salad I served on the side. Thanks anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
These were pretty good. I followed the directions except that I didn't grill them at the end- I just served them as is from the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet R.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
These were delish! I didnt add the ketchup (mostly because I was in such a hurry, I forgot), but I think this is what we will do for brats from now on! The beer/onion flavor mixed with the grill flavor is PERFECT on those hot summer days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made these for party everyone loved them.. grilled to give nice grilled brat color and the taste fantastic..really easy and yum yum...polish neigbors said delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I didn't have beer available, so I used chicken broth instead. It turned out really well! We will definitely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Moothart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: La Habra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
very good...I used the broiler also... beats standing out in the cold for an hour. I only used 1 beer also/ I drank the other 5..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These we're okay... My husband and brother-in-law thought they we're great. I really though there was a little too much bear taste and I like brats! Next time, I'd recommend using a can of beer and use water to finish covering the brats and onions. Cook for two hours on high and then grill for 10-15 minutes and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lacylue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I'm not sure if it was the brand of beer I used but I really didn't enjoy the flavor it gave the brats. Each ingredient really stood out to me & just didn't meld well, giving it a strange taste overall. I like the idea but this combo wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaines, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Beedubya has it right. Nobody I know in this whole state lets ketchup get anywhere near a brat. Serve on a brat bun with sauerkraut and brown or stone-ground mustard. Now that is a WI brat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Make this great Italian beef for sandwiches in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States